Mackenzie and Karro win

Banks Browne

Desertmartin in Northern Ireland is arguably one of the best tracks in not only the Emerald Isle, but also the United Kingdom. It’s just a shame about the weather, because every time the motocross circus comes to Northern Ireland, it is somewhat moist. But enough of that; it’s racing we came for and it’s racing we got. Some bloody good racing it was too.


The MX2 class goes out for their qualifying first, and Heads and All Threads Suzuki’s Graeme Irwin shows that he meant business with his time of 1:54.659, only to be pipped to the post by Pendrich Kawasaki’s Bryan Mackenzie, who takes pole in the subsequent super-pole session, after improving on his own time for qualifying. In the MX1 class immediately after, it is MBO Sport Yamaha’s Kristian Whatley who puts in the fastest time both in the qualifying session as well as the super-pole, ending with a 1:58.998.


This is the final round of the MXY2 class, and after ten minutes of practice and qualifying in very thick mud, it is RSS Recognise GFX-PDMX’s Mathew Callaghan who qualifies in pole, setting the tone for the day.



This being their home round, Irwin and KTM’s Martin Barr want to show what they were capable of, but it is Mackenzie who really steals the show in the MX2 class. In the first race, getting off the start with a blinder of a holeshot, he leads until midway when a mechanical issue forces him to back off and let Irwin and Barr by, but in the second race, he gets his just rewards. Riding smart, he keeps his cool, steering his Kawasaki to a very satisfying win.


The third race again sees Mackenzie off with a killer holeshot, but halfway in he makes a mistake, goes down, and remounts in fourth behind the man he has to beat to win, Putoline Honda’s Neville Bradshaw. With two laps to go and the “must pass to win” message on his pit board, Mackenzie finds a second wind that allows him to pass back Irwin and Bradshaw, taking the overall win on the day, while Barr takes the third race win to collect a runner-up position. Bradshaw, consistent throughout, ends the day in third overall.


The day’s MX1 races are all about Team STR KTM’s Matiss Karro. The young Latvian has done his homework after injuring himself earlier in the season, and after returning to the championship at Foxhill, he storms to three convincing wins here in Ireland too. But it is not easy: his competition consists of fellow Baltic rider, Route77energy Honda’s Tanel Leok, his own team mate Jonathan Barragán and Whatley, who is starting to really come into his own. Gifted with the lead in the first race after Whatley throws it away in the first lap, Karro then continues the streak in the second race with only Leok able to hang on for a while. But eventually, even the Estonian has had to back off, cruising to second.


In the final race, Whatley really wants to prove that the first race was a glitch, taking the lead whilst hotly pursued by Karro. The eventual back and forth between the two is certainly something that won’t be forgotten anytime soon, but it is Karro who will take the win and the overall on the day to loud cheering from his fan club, with Leok second and Whatley third.


The second to last MXY2 race of the season sees Brad Todd put in a stunning effort from start to finish, shadowed by Callaghan and local man, Watt Motorcycles KTM’s Glenn McCormick, while the final race sees a complete reversal. Here McCormick gets out in front for much of the first half
of the race before MJW Kick Energy Kawasaki’s Robert Davidson mounts a successful challenge. That does not last too long however; McCormick will not let that lie and pressures Davidson into making mistakes, re-taking the lead with the clock ticking down, and taking the win two laps later. With Callaghan and Davidson tied for third and second, McCormick takes the overall on the day, a great goodbye present for one of his recently departed friends. For Davidson, the podium is sufficient: he is crowned the 2013 Maxxis British MXY2 Champion with a scant thirteen points over his rivals.


The next round of the Maxxis will be somewhat far off; the championship now takes a six week break as the FIM Motocross World Championship goes for a tour of the Baltic before returning via Germany and the Czech Republic.


MX2 Overall:

1. Bryan Mackenzie (Pendrich Kawasaki) 48, 2. Martin Barr ( KTM) 63, 3. Neville Bradshaw (Putoline Honda) 54, 4. Graeme Irwin (Heads + All Threads Suzuki) 48, 5. Elliott Banks-Browne (HM Plant KTM UK) 72, 6. Steven Clarke (HM Plant KTM UK) 55, 7. Steven Lenoir (Evotech Stevens KTM) 65, 8. Nathan Watson (HM Plant KTM UK) 28, 9. Lewis Tombs (JAR Honda by IFS) 32, 10. Arminas Jasikonis (Route77energy Honda) 29.


MX2 Championship:

1. Elliott Banks-Browne (HM Plant KTM UK) 298, 2. Neville Bradshaw (Putoline Honda) 262, 3. Steven Lenoir (Evotech Stevens KTM) 248, 4. Graeme Irwin (Heads + All Threads Suzuki) 229, 5. Bryan Mackenzie (Pendrich Kawasaki) 225, 6. Nathan Watson (HM Plant KTM UK) 198, 7. Lewis Tombs (JAR Honda by IFS) 144, 8. Steven Clarke (HM Plant KTM) 142, 9. Adam Sterry (Team STR KTM) 139, 10. Martin Barr ( KTM) 132.


MX1 Overall:

1. Matiss Karro (Team STR KTM) 75, 2. Tanel Leok (Route77energy Honda) 62, 3. Kristian Whatley (MBO Sport Yamaha) 54, 4. Jamie Law (Dyer & Butler Racing KTM) 49, 5. Brad Anderson (Maxxis Kawasaki by LPE) 48, 6. Shane Carless (Oakleaf Kawasaki) 40, 7. Jonathan Barragán (Team STR KTM) 40, 8. Scott Elderfield (iFly Lanes Kawasaki) 39, 9. Matt Moffat (Armitage Transport KTM) 34, 10. Dorren Coutts (Maxxis Kawasaki by LPE) 27.


MX1 Championship:

1. Kristian Whatley (MBO Sport Yamaha) 278, 2. Jonathan Barragán (STR KTM) 250, 4. Tanel Leok (Route77energy Honda) 236, 3. Nicolas Aubin (Buildbase Honda Racing) 212, 8. Matiss Karro (Team STR KTM) 199, 5. Brad Anderson (Maxxis Kawasaki by LPE) 197, 9. Scott Elderfield (iFly Lanes Kawasaki) 151, 6. Tommy Searle (CLS Monster Energy Kawasaki) 146, 10. Shane Carless (Oakleaf Kawasaki) 141, 7. Gert Krestinov (Apico ANSA Racing Kawasaki) 139.


MXY2 Overall:

1. Glenn McCormick (Watt Motorcycles KTM) 45, 2. Robert Davidson (MJW Kick Energy Kawasaki) 38, 3. Mathew Callaghan (RSS Recognise GFX-PDMX Honda) 38, 4. Liam Knight (Dyer & Butler KTM) 33, 6. John Adamson (AAA Bikesport KTM) 27, 7. Ben Putnam (iFly Lanes Kawasaki) 26, 8. Christopher Bayliss (Why Not Compare Honda) 25, 9. Brad Todd (KTM) 25, 10. Reece Desoer (RSS-PDMX Honda ) 23.


MXY2 Championship: 1. Robert Davidson (MJW Kawasaki) 139, 2. Mathew Callaghan (RSS Recognise GFX-PDMX Honda) 125, 3. Ben Putnam (iFly Lanes Kawasaki) 120, 4. Brad Todd (KTM) 119, 5. John Adamson (AAA Bikesport KTM) 113, 6. Glenn McCormick (Watt Motorcycles KTM) 96, 7. Jack Kelly (Malin KTM Racing) 77, 8. Liam Knight (Dyer & Butler KTM) 64, 9. Tom Neal (Evotech Stevens Honda) 61, 10. Josh Gilbert (Bikesport Honda) 61.