Roczen wins A1

AMA Motocross Champion, Ken Roczen (Honda) has won the opening round of the AMA Supercross championship, after a dominant performance at A1.

The HRC rider took the lead in the first corner, and pulled away from his rivals. Mr.Consistent, Ryan Dungey (KTM) was second after doing what he does all season long and cruised to a safe second place.

“You know, what I said before, I am bringing more focus and I am super fit. It got rought and it made it difficult, I am celebrating at HRC and it was a great first round, but we need the same focus and effort in every single race.”

It was Roczens 10th AMA SX main event win and his third in A1. Second placed Dungey scored his 89th podium finish and was happy with his performance.

“I don’t want to take from Ken, he rode great tonight, and this is one of the first big races and its getting my feet back in the game and I am happy. I didn’t get a great start, but made some good passes. This is the true challenge and I am happy about tonight, I am not bummed. It was a good distance from second to third.”

Marvin Musquin  (KTM) who nearly took the holeshot from Roczen finish in third place after passing Eli Tomac (Kawasaki) mid-race. Tomac was also passed by Jason Anderson (Husqvarna) to finish in fifth place.

The last rider to win the AMA supercross championship on a Honda was Ricky Carmichael, and Roczen is the red riders big hope for 2017.

Veteran Chad Reed (Yamaha) failed to make an impression in the main event, and fellow Yamaha factory rider Cooper Webb was also down in the pack.

A1 Main Event – Results

1. Ken Roczen (Honda)
2. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
3. Marvin Musquin (KTM)
4. Jason Anderson (Husky)
5. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki)
6. Cole Seely (Honda)
7. Davi Milsaps (KTM
8. Weston Peik (Suzuki)
9. Josh Grant (Kawa)
10. Cooper Webb (Yamaha)
11. Jake Weimer (Suzuki)
12. Justin Bogle (Suzuki)
13. Dean Wilson (Yamaha)
14. Blake Baggott (KTM)
15. Justin Brayton (Honda)