Herlings and Valkenswaard 2010

The 2010 edition of the Dutch Grand Prix marked an historical home victory for 15 year old Herlings of Red Bull KTM Factory Racing MX2. Herlings grasped his first ever Grand Prix victory becoming the second youngest GP winner ever after Roczen – 15 years and 225 days for Herlings and 15 years and 53 days for Roczen. The Dutchman won in dominant style, leading both moto’s from the start to the flag, despite starting from the 14th position.

Teka Suzuki Europe World MX2’s Roczen took another second place, the third in three GP’s, but this time the young German clinched the red plate for the first time in his career just one week before turning 16 – on April 29. Roczen rode steady in second place as he decided it was better to settle for second rather than risking to go chase Herlings.

Kawasaki CLS’ Frossard took third overall to celebrate his maiden podium finish on a sandy course, something the hard pack specialist from France was not so good at in the past seasons. After a couple of “so and so” starts Frossard managed to work his way through the top five in both heats.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing MX2’s Simpson was a positive fourth overall meaning that the Scottish rider is on his way back to the top after a hand injury hampered the beginning of his season. Team mate Musquin ended an unlucky weekend –he crashed Saturday in the qualifying moto- by taking fifth overall.

MX2 Race 1 top ten: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 40:38.808; ; 2. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), +0:11.538; 3. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:31.190; 4. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:32.125; 5. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Suzuki), +0:45.966; 6. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Yamaha), +0:55.075; 7. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), +0:59.618; 8. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), +1:10.331; 9. Harri Kullas (FIN, Yamaha), +1:10.864; 10. Zach Osborne (USA, Yamaha), +1:26.462;

MX2 Race 2 top ten: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 39:11.832; ; 2. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), +0:12.186; 3. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:37.194; 4. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:51.914; 5. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), +1:05.231; 6. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), +1:10.994; 7. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +1:13.917; 8. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Yamaha), +1:14.452; 9. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Suzuki), +1:27.641; 10. Jake Nicholls (GBR, KTM), +1:33.609;

MX2 Overall top ten: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 50 points; 2. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), 44 p.; 3. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), 38 p.; 4. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 34 p.; 5. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), 29 p.; 6. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), 29 p.; 7. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki), 28 p.; 8. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Yamaha), 28 p.; 9. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Suzuki), 28 p.; 10. Harri Kullas (FIN, Yamaha), 22 p.;

Ray Archer images