Cairoli wins MXGP qualifier

Red Bull KTM Factory rider Antonio Cairoli picked up yet another MXGP qualification race win with a solid performance at the Grand Prix of Switzerland. The MXGP king led home Max Anstie and Romain Febvre.

“Max (Anstie) was riding very good, had a good pace. The track is very difficult, its easy to get arm pump, but I didn’t have the speed to get away from Max. Good to be on pole for tomorrow.”

Tim Gajser and Clement Desalle down in the first corner as Cairoli took the holeshot, Anstie was right behind him, then came Coldenhoff, Febvre, Tonus, Paulin, Searle and Herlings. Herlings another terrible start.

Caroli looked very fast as he made a break on Anstie, although the Brit seemed to catch the Italian a little. Jasikonis crashed early, and Herlings up to sixth palce as he passed Paulin. Febvre also went past Coldenhoff. Gajser was last, Bobryshev 32nd, and Desalle flying in 24th place.

Gajser into the mechanics area as Herlings goes after Tonus and looking very fast. Tonus and Herlings right onto Coldenhoff, as Cairoli continued to lead. Tonus gets Coldenhoff, and pulling very quick laps. Herlings also goes past his fellow Dutchman.

After three laps and Cairoli held a two second lead over Anstie, with Febvre on his back wheel, then Tonus and Herlings. Cairoli looking brilliant in front. Herlings not really making any ground on Tonus, and it looks like he has settled for fifth place.

Anstie closed a little on Cairoli, and Febvre a further two seconds back, Tonus 10 seconds off Cairoli and Herlings also 10 seconds back.  Herlings all over Tonus as he put down a quick lap.

Herlings went down and lost a place to Coldenhoff, but was quickly up and away. Paulin and Strijbos were all over the Dutchman.

Cairoli won it from Anstie and Febvre. Tommy Searle finished a very strong 11th on his return race.

MXGP – Qualifying Race – Classification

1 222 Cairoli, Antonio ITA FMI KTM 24:05.893
2 99 Anstie, Max GBR ACU Husqvarna 24:08.001
3 461 Febvre, Romain FRA FFM Yamaha 24:15.759
4 4 Tonus, Arnaud SUI FMS Yamaha 24:17.466
5 259 Coldenhoff, Glenn NED KNMV KTM 24:21.968
6 84 Herlings, Jeffrey NED KNMV KTM 24:26.529
7 21 Paulin, Gautier FRA MCM Husqvarna 24:27.774
8 22 Strijbos, Kevin BEL FMB Suzuki 24:29.374
9 12 Nagl, Maximilian GER DMSB Husqvarna 24:31.686
10 77 Lupino, Alessandro ITA FMI Honda 24:53.284
11 100 Searle, Tommy GBR ACU Kawasaki 24:57.144
12 25 Desalle, Clement BEL FMB Kawasaki 25:01.280
13 27 Jasikonis, Arminas LTU LMSF Suzuki 25:11.726
14 777 Bobryshev, Evgeny RUS MFR Honda 25:18.801
15 71 Graulus, Damon BEL FMB Honda 25:27.700
16 89 Van Horebeek, Jeremy BEL FMB Yamaha 25:29.250
17 999 Goncalves, Rui POR FMP Husqvarna 25:36.942
18 49 Irt, Jernej SLO AMZS Husqvarna 25:38.627
19 191 Romancik, Jaromir CZE ACCR KTM 25:39.534
20 878 Pezzuto, Stefano ITA FMI Yamaha 25:48.761
21 82 Baumgartner, Andy SUI FMS KTM 25:49.865
22 831 Wysocki, Tomasz POL PZM KTM 25:57.585
23 232 Michek, Martin CZE ACCR KTM 26:02.996
24 778 Furlato, Yves SUI FMS KTM 26:04.211
25 117 Ekerold, Stefan GER DMSB Suzuki 26:05.106
26 73 Irt, Peter SLO AMZS Yamaha 26:05.564
27 366 Schafer, Alain SUI FMS Honda 24:17.049
28 347 Klein, Johannes AUT OeAMTC KTM 24:34.756
29 710 Bender, Nicolas SUI FMS Husqvarna 24:36.798
30 47 Boulard, Bryan BEL FFM Yamaha 24:46.157
31 7 Leok, Tanel EST EMF Husqvarna 25:14.656
32 243 Gajser, Tim SLO AMZS Honda 26:05.366
33 817 Clermont, Jason FRA FFM Kawasaki 19:17.974
34 9 de Dycker, Ken BEL FMB Honda 19:18.452
35 920 Valentin, Ander ESP RFME Honda 25:00.234
36 17 Butron, Jose ESP RFME KTM 0:00.000

Ray Archer image