Covington wins Saturday

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna factory rider Thomas Covington from America has won the MX2 qualification race, at the Grand Prix of Assen, after taking the lead early on and leading home his two Husqvarna team-mates in Thomas Kjer Olsen and Conrad Mewse.

“It was a pretty smooth race really. Lieber edged me out early and then I saw his muffler loose, I couldn’t even hear my own bike. I just tried to race some good lines. It wasn’t easy staying upright out there.”

As the weather improved, the MX2 qualification moto started as Lieber led from Covington, Olsen, Pootjes, Jonass, Seewer, Bogers, de Jong, Prado, Vlaanderen. Jonass in trouble, crashed, as he was off the track and is back to 27th.

Covington all over Lieber, as the American continues his good form. Jonass in more trouble as he collided with a rider, but kept upright.

Track holding up well and after two laps it was Lieber, Covington, Olsen, Pootjes, Vlaanderen, Seewer, Prado, Mewse, Watson and Bogers 10th. Jonass still back in the pack in 25th.

Covington pushed hard to get past Lieber and tried to make a pass, only to have Lieber push him wide and then seconds later the American did take the lead.

Olsen was also looking for a way past Lieber and chase down his team-mate. Covington in the meantime getting away from the others a little. Jonass up to 20th on lap four. Mewse also riding well as he moved into sixth place after passing Prado and Seewer.

Covington extended his lead to three seconds on lap five, then Lieber, Olsen, Pootjes, Vlaanderen, Mewse, Seewer, Prado, Watson and Bogers. Jonass in more trouble as he crashed again, and back to 27th.

Olsen into second place as he passed Lieber on lap seven, and Jonass back into 24th, but still struggling at the back. Olsen also closed the gap down to Covington for the lead, just one second after eight laps.

Lieber back to fifth place as Pootjes and Mewse go past. Pootjes crashed and after 10 laps was a Husqvarna domination as Covington led his two Husky team-mates in Olsen and Mewse. Then came Lieber, Seewer, Prado, Vlaanderen, Pootjes, Bogers and Watson 10th. Jonass up to 22nd, clearly struggling as his championship gets closer and closer.

Sun trying to come out as this race gets into the last laps and circuit holding out really well, despite all the rain over the last two days.

All three Husqvarna riders getting closer together as Covington tries to remain the leader. Mewse all over Olsen as the two Husky riders push until the end of the moto.

Covington wins it from Olsen and Mewse. Nice result for the Husqvarna brand.

MX2 – Qualifying Race – Classification

1 64 Covington, Thomas USA MUL Husqvarna 25:22.519
2 19 Olsen, Thomas Kjer DEN DMU Husqvarna 25:25.839
3 426 Mewse, Conrad GBR ACU Husqvarna 25:29.377
4 91 Seewer, Jeremy SUI FMS Suzuki 25:35.338
5 10 Vlaanderen, Calvin NED KNMV KTM 25:48.179
6 46 Pootjes, Davy NED KNMV KTM 25:48.734
7 61 Prado Garcia, Jorge ESP RFME KTM 25:55.290
8 189 Bogers, Brian NED KNMV KTM 25:56.043
9 33 Lieber, Julien BEL FMB KTM 25:32.997
10 919 Watson, Ben GBR ACU KTM 25:58.160
11 96 Lawrence, Hunter AUS MA Suzuki 26:02.945
12 297 Gole, Anton SWE SVEMO TM 26:23.988
13 161 Östlund, Alvin SWE SVEMO Yamaha 26:38.428
14 107 van Berkel, Lars NED KNMV Husqvarna 26:44.494
15 95 De Waal, Micha-Boy NED KNMV Honda 26:48.211
16 14 Beaton, Jed AUS MA Honda 26:55.775
17 172 Van doninck, Brent BEL FMB Yamaha 26:06.098
18 67 Klingsheim, Magne NOR NMF Kawasaki 26:59.222
19 41 Jonass, Pauls LAT LAMSF KTM 27:00.518
20 130 De Jong, Rene NED KNMV KTM 27:02.664
21 57 Sanayei, Darian USA AMA Kawasaki 27:05.692
22 931 Geerts, Jago BEL FMB KTM 27:32.352
23 29 Jacobi, Henry GER DMSB Husqvarna 25:31.043
24 44 Lesiardo, Morgan ITA FMI Kawasaki 25:32.405
25 83 Renkens, Nathan BEL FMB KTM 25:38.918
26 85 Conijn, Marcel NED KNMV Kawasaki 25:47.360
27 78 Van Heugten, Roy NED KNMV Kawasaki 26:03.372
28 223 Tropepe, Giuseppe ITA FMI Husqvarna 26:15.614
29 480 Bengtson, Ken SWE SVEMO Yamaha 26:34.191
30 228 Ebben, Kay NED KNMV Yamaha 26:18.694
31 118 Rubini, Stephen FRA FFM Kawasaki 19:54.383
32 76 Fernandez, Ruben ESP RFME Kawasaki 17:08.706
33 199 Zaragoza, Jorge ESP RFME Yamaha 18:07.952