Herlings wins Qualification

Red Bull KTM factory rider Jeffrey Herlings has won yet another moto as he strolled to victory in the MXGP qualification race. The Flying Dutchman started inside the top five, and as we have seen all season long, if he started there, he is nearly unbeatable.

“I felt really good and was excited for this year. Unfortunately the weather has disappointed, but hopefully it will be dry tomorrow, the organized have done a good job. Hopefully I can get on the podium tomorrow.”

Herlings passed early leader Tim Gajser and cruised to the win, setting up a pole position start tomorrow.

Gajser led from Paulin and Herlings, but Herlings was quickly into second after passing Paulin in the first lap. After a lap it was Gajser, Herlings, Paulin, Febvre, Van Horebeek, Strijbos, Nagl, Bobryshev, Cairoli, and in 10th Simpson.

Van Horebeek and Febvre in a great battle as the Belgian passed the Frenchman. Herlings closing in on Gasjer who had gotten away a little, the Dutchman riding in the sand will be hard to beat.

Just as I type that, Herlings made a mistake and Paulin get back past, and now Gajser has a seven second lead over Paulin.

Herlings though so much faster than Paulin it wouldn’t be long before he passed him back. Coldenhoff who was well back early moved into 12th place after three laps. Simpson problems as he gets off the track and falls onto the concrete. He goes from 11th to 26th.

After four laps its Gajser by seven seconds over Paulin, then Herlings, Van Horebeek, Febvre, Strijbos, Nagl, Cairoli, Bobryshev, Desalle, Coldenhoff, Leok, Anstie, Searle and Bengtsson in 15th.

Herlings into second place as he passed Paulin again, and goes after Gajser, who is still seven seconds ahead. Cairoli up to seventh as he cruises around for a top ten finish. Obviously thinking about a top ten finish and a world title tomorrow.

Cairoli moved into sixth, as he moved past Strijbos and Gajser continued to lead by seven seconds over Herlings. Cairoli then down and having trouble getting getting going, back down to 11th.

Gajser starting to look over his shoulder as Herlings closes up on Gajser, and then makes a pass. The Dutchman making it look so easy.

After 10 laps its Herlings, Gajser, Paulin, Van Horebeek, Strijbos, Febvre, Bobryshev, Desalle, Coldenhoff, and Nagl 10th. Cairoli 11th, Anstie 13th, Searle 14th, and Simpson 28th.

Gajser crashed in the late staged, but remained in second place. Cairoli up to 10th.

Herlings wins it from Gajser, and Paulin.

MXGP – Qualifying Race – Classification

1 84 Herlings, Jeffrey NED KNMV KTM 23:49.015
2 243 Gajser, Tim SLO AMZS Honda 24:07.565
3 21 Paulin, Gautier FRA MCM Husqvarna 24:10.711
4 89 Van Horebeek, Jeremy BEL FMB Yamaha 24:12.972
5 22 Strijbos, Kevin BEL FMB Suzuki 24:15.262
6 461 Febvre, Romain FRA FFM Yamaha 24:22.602
7 777 Bobryshev, Evgeny RUS MFR Honda 24:24.600
8 12 Nagl, Maximilian GER DMSB Husqvarna 24:25.319
9 259 Coldenhoff, Glenn NED KNMV KTM 24:29.203
10 222 Cairoli, Antonio ITA FMI KTM 24:42.759
11 99 Anstie, Max GBR ACU Husqvarna 24:59.393
12 100 Searle, Tommy GBR ACU Kawasaki 25:11.245
13 664 Bengtsson, Filip SWE SVEMO KTM 25:12.239
14 77 Lupino, Alessandro ITA FMI Honda 25:38.691
15 494 Van der Mierden, Sven NED KNMV Husqvarna 25:48.574
16 926 Delince, Jeremy BEL FMB Honda 23:50.281
17 824 Kouwenberg, Nick NED KNMV Honda 23:52.613
18 141 Desprey, Maxime FRA FFM Kawasaki 23:55.434
19 17 Butron, Jose ESP RFME KTM 24:18.644
20 119 Houghton, Ryan GBR ACU Yamaha 24:29.195
21 999 Goncalves, Rui POR FMP Husqvarna 24:31.554
22 831 Wysocki, Tomasz POL PZM KTM 24:31.974
23 49 Irt, Jernej SLO AMZS Husqvarna 24:35.602
24 25 Desalle, Clement BEL FMB Kawasaki 20:39.987
25 32 Potisek, Milko FRA FFM Yamaha 21:31.635
26 47 Boulard, Bryan BEL FFM Yamaha 24:21.501
27 7 Leok, Tanel EST EMF Husqvarna 19:07.637
28 24 Simpson, Shaun GBR ACU Yamaha 11:01.358
29 151 Kullas, Harri EST EMF Husqvarna 8:23.470
30 911 Tixier, Jordi FRA FFM Kawasaki 9:44.219
31 71 Graulus, Damon BEL FMB Honda 6:30.217
32 9 de Dycker, Ken BEL FMB Honda 0:50.733

Ray Archer image