Jonass wins moto one

Red Bull KTM factory rider Pauls Jonass has won the opening moto of the MX2 class, and closed in on the 2017 MX2 world championship. The Latvian had to deal with a lot of pressure from his KTM team-mate Jorge Prado, but the Spaniard seemed to back it down in the late stage, maybe deciding to help Jonass.

“You know,” Jonass said. “Overnight I thought about everything. The track is a lot different today, more like a real sand track. I got the holeshot and a nice battle with Jorge, my teammate. I am happy he finished second and I am looking forward to the second moto.”

Jonass led early from Prado, then came Covington, Geerts, Lieber, Olsen, Seewer, Zaragoza and Vlaanderen.

Jonass and Prado got away from the others and were riding a frantic pace. After four laps it was Jonass, Prado, Covington, Mewse, Geerts, Seewer, Bogers, Vlaanderen, Olsen, and Pootjes.

Prado all over Jonass, and really pushing his team-mate. Prado went past the Latvian, and Jonass seemed to decide to sit back and watch his Spanish team-mate go for the moto win. Prado was riding a little on the edge.

Jonass back past Prado, and after nine laps it was Jonass, Prado, Covington, Mewse, Geerts, Seewer, Vlaanderen, Bogers, Olsen and Lieber.

Vlaanderen and Seewer all over each other as they swap positions a few times. Vlaanderen passed Seewer and soon after passed Geerts for fifth place.

Mewse all over Covington and Geerts went down hard, crashing over a jump and onto the concrete around the circuit. Mewse pushed Covington out of the way and into third place.

The top four are closing up as Jonass slows up, Prado moved closer to him, and Mewse and Covington were closing in, then all of a sudden Mewse crashed and handed Covington third place.

After 16 laps it was Jonass, Prado, Covington, Vlaanderen, Seewer, Mewse, Olsen, Bogers, Lieber and Lawrence.

Jonass wins it from Prado and Covington.

MX2 – Grand Prix Race 1 – Classification

1 41 Jonass, Pauls LAT LAMSF KTM 34:39.137
2 61 Prado Garcia, Jorge ESP RFME KTM 34:40.044
3 64 Covington, Thomas USA MUL Husqvarna 34:52.292
4 10 Vlaanderen, Calvin NED KNMV KTM 34:55.692
5 91 Seewer, Jeremy SUI FMS Suzuki 34:57.971
6 426 Mewse, Conrad GBR ACU Husqvarna 35:08.618
7 189 Bogers, Brian NED KNMV KTM 35:10.259
8 19 Olsen, Thomas Kjer DEN DMU Husqvarna 35:13.801
9 33 Lieber, Julien BEL FMB KTM 35:17.813
10 96 Lawrence, Hunter AUS MA Suzuki 35:18.887
11 919 Watson, Ben GBR ACU KTM 35:26.709
12 46 Pootjes, Davy NED KNMV KTM 35:36.219
13 161 Östlund, Alvin SWE SVEMO Yamaha 35:40.352
14 14 Beaton, Jed AUS MA Honda 35:54.311
15 76 Fernandez, Ruben ESP RFME Kawasaki 36:01.583
16 29 Jacobi, Henry GER DMSB Husqvarna 36:02.574
17 107 van Berkel, Lars NED KNMV Husqvarna 36:21.918
18 44 Lesiardo, Morgan ITA FMI Kawasaki 34:48.577
19 130 De Jong, Rene NED KNMV KTM 34:50.942
20 85 Conijn, Marcel NED KNMV Kawasaki 34:58.450
21 480 Bengtson, Ken SWE SVEMO Yamaha 35:16.978
22 118 Rubini, Stephen FRA FFM Kawasaki 35:29.196
23 83 Renkens, Nathan BEL FMB KTM 35:33.753
24 78 Van Heugten, Roy NED KNMV Kawasaki 35:42.876
25 199 Zaragoza, Jorge ESP RFME Yamaha 35:08.508
26 95 De Waal, Micha-Boy NED KNMV Honda 27:04.860
27 931 Geerts, Jago BEL FMB KTM 22:44.947
28 228 Ebben, Kay NED KNMV Yamaha 24:26.788
29 57 Sanayei, Darian USA AMA Kawasaki 22:08.146
30 223 Tropepe, Giuseppe ITA FMI Husqvarna 16:32.711
31 297 Gole, Anton SWE SVEMO TM 4:20.430
32 67 Klingsheim, Magne NOR NMF Kawasaki 4:20.849
33 172 Van doninck, Brent BEL FMB Yamaha 2:26.696

Ray Archer image