Atlanta SX - Statistics

Posted on April 07, 2021

The next three rounds of the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross, an FIM World Championship series will take place in Atlanta, Georgia and the city will now add a triple header to the already storied Atlanta SX racing history. While SX has visited Atlanta nearly every year since 1977, 2021 will mark the first time the series will be tearing up the infield of the famed Atlanta Motor Speedway.

Check out all the historical stats attached to the Atlanta SX racing history. Scroll to the bottom to view the three track maps for the Atlanta 1, Atlanta 2 and the Atlanta 3 SX’s.

450SX Class: Atlanta Facts

The first 450SX Class race held in Atlanta was on March 5, 1977 and Bob Hannah won the race on a Yamaha. The series has only missed Atlanta twice since 1977 (1987 and 1988).

Fulton County Stadium hosted 14 450SX Class races from 1977 through 1992 before being demolished. The largest domed stadium in the world was being built right up the road and would begin hosting Supercross in 1993. The Georgia Dome stood until 2017 hosting 26 450SX Class races before it too was demolished in lieu of Mercedes-Benz Stadium. Mercedes-Benz Stadium entered the Supercross fray with a bang hosting a Triple Crown in its inaugural season of 2018. The series returned to the Benz in 2019 and 2020 as well.

Atlanta will host a different kind of “Triple Crown” this season than previous and in a brand new 450SX Class venue. Atlanta Motor Speedway is set to host Rounds 13 through 15 becoming the 62nd different venue to host a 450SX Class race and fourth within the Atlanta market. Atlanta Motor Speedway has been open since 1960 and Dale Earnhardt is the winningest racer with nine NASCAR victories there. The first Atlanta race will be the 44th 450SX Class race in the Atlanta Market.

Late season surge? The winner of the Atlanta Supercross has gone on to win the 450SX Class title 25 times in 43 seasons, including 10 straight seasons from 1998 through 2007. This is the latest in the season Atlanta has ever been scheduled as it typically falls right in the middle of the season.

450SX Manufacturer Wins in Atlanta (Last Win) Yamaha: 11 (’09) Honda: 11 (’20) Kawasaki: 8 (’15) Suzuki: 6 (’13) KTM: 6 (’19) Husqvarna: 1 (’18) 

Most 450SX Class Wins in Atlanta Jeremy McGrath: 5 (’94, ’96, ’98-’00) Ricky Carmichael: 5 (’01-’03, ’05-’06) Ryan Dungey: 5 (’10, ’12, ’15-’17) Bob Hannah: 3 (’77, ’79, ’82) Mark Barnett: 3 (’81, ’83, ’85) Damon Bradshaw: 3 (’91-’93) James Stewart: 3 (’07, ’09, ’13) 

450SX Class: First Time Winners in Atlanta Bob Hannah: 1977 Chuck Sun: 1980 Jeff Stanton: 1989 Damon Huffman: 1997 Davi Millsaps: 2008

250SX Class: Atlanta Facts The first 250SX Class race held in Atlanta was on February 23, 1985 and Eddie Warren won the race on a Kawasaki.

Fulton County Stadium hosted six 250SX Class races from 1985-1992. The Georgia Dome took over from 1993 through 2017 and hosted 26 250SX Class races. Last season marked the third 250SX Class race in Mercedes-Benz Stadium, making the first Atlanta race the 36th 250SX Class race in the city. It will be held at Atlanta Motor Speedway this season.

The 250SX Class race in Atlanta had been an Eastern Regional round every season until 2019 when it was one of the two 250SX Class Showdowns. In 2021 for the first time ever Atlanta will be a Western Regional race.

The winner of the 250SX Class Atlanta Supercross has gone on to win their Regional title in 24 of 35 seasons, including Chase Sexton last year.

Manufacturer Wins in Atlanta (Last Win) Kawasaki: 10 (’19) Honda: 9 (’20) Yamaha: 8 (’15) Suzuki: 5 (’07) Husqvarna: 2 (’17) KTM: 1 (’15) 

Most 250SX Wins in Atlanta Brian Swink: 2 (’91-’92) Ricky Carmichael: 2 (’97-’98) Christophe Pourcel: 2 (’09-’10) Justin Barcia: 2 (’11-’12) Martin Davalos: 2 (’14, ’16) 

250SX Class: First Time Winners in Atlanta Eddie Warren: 1985 Keith Turpin: 1986 Denny Stephenson: 1990 Doug Henry: 1993 John Dowd: 1996 Ricky Carmichael: 1997 Josh Grant: 2008 Dean Wilson: 2011 Wil Hahn: 2013 Martin Davalos: 2014 

450SX Class Past Winners in Atlanta 

1977- Bob Hannah; Yamaha 

1978- Marty Tripes; Honda 

1979- Bob Hannah; Yamaha 

1980- Chuck Sun; Honda 

1981- Mark Barnett; Suzuki 

1982- Bob Hannah; Yamaha 

1983- Mark Barnett; Suzuki 

1984- Johnny O’Mara; Honda 

1985- Mark Barnett; Kawasaki 

1986- Rick Johnson; Honda 

1989- Jeff Stanton; Honda 

1990- Jeff Ward; Kawasaki 

1991- Damon Bradshaw; Yamaha 

1992- Damon Bradshaw; Yamaha 

1993- Damon Bradshaw; Yamaha 

1994- Jeremy McGrath; Yamaha 

1995- Mike LaRocco; Kawasaki 

1996-Jeremy McGrath; Yamaha 

1997- Damon Huffman; Kawasaki 

1998- Jeremy McGrath; Yamaha 

1999- Jeremy McGrath; Yamaha 

2000- Jeremy McGrath; Yamaha 

2001- Ricky Carmichael; Kawasaki 

2002- Ricky Carmichael; Honda 

2003- Ricky Carmichael; Honda 

2004- Chad Reed; Yamaha 

2005- Ricky Carmichael; Suzuki 

2006- Ricky Carmichael; Suzuki 

2007- James Stewart; Kawasaki 

2008- Davi Millsaps; Honda 

2009- James Stewart; Yamaha 

2010- Ryan Dungey; Suzuki 

2011- Ryan Villopoto; Kawasaki 

2012- Ryan Dungey; KTM 

2013- James Stewart; Suzuki 

2014- Ken Roczen; KTM 

2015- Chad Reed; Kawasaki 

2015- Ryan Dungey; KTM 

2016- Ryan Dungey; KTM 

2017- Ryan Dungey; KTM 

2018- Jason Anderson; Husqvarna 

2019- Cooper Webb; KTM 

2020- Ken Roczen; Honda 

250SX Class Past Winners in Atlanta 

1985- Eddie Warren; Kawasaki 

1986- Keith Turpin; Honda 

1989- Damon Bradshaw; Yamaha 

1990- Denny Stephenson; Suzuki 

1991- Brian Swink; Honda 

1992- Brian Swink; Suzuki 

1993- Doug Henry; Honda 

1994- Ezra Lusk; Suzuki 

1995- Mickael Pichon; Suzuki 

1996- John Dowd; Yamaha 

1997- Ricky Carmichael; Kawasaki 

1998- Ricky Carmichael; Kawasaki 

1999- Ernesto Fonseca; Yamaha 

2000- Stephane Roncada; Yamaha 

2001- Nathan Ramsey; Yamaha 

2002- Chad Reed; Yamaha 

2003- Brock Sellards; Yamaha 

2004- James Stewart; Kawasaki 

2005- Grant Langston; Kawasaki 

2006- Josh Grant; Honda 

2007- Ryan Dungey; Suzuki 

2008- Trey Canard; Honda 

2009- Christophe Pourcel; Kawasaki 

2010- Christophe Pourcel; Kawasaki 

2011- Justin Barcia; Honda 

2012- Justin Barcia; Honda 

2013- Wil Hahn; Honda 

2014- Martin Davalos; Kawasaki 

2015- Jeremy Martin; Yamaha 

2015- Marvin Musquin; KTM 

2016- Martin Davalos; Kawasaki 

2017- Zach Osborne; Husqvarna 

2018- Austin Forkner; Kawasaki 

2019- Adam Cianciarulo; Kawasaki 

2020- Chase Sexton; Honda