MXLarge Logo
Coenen Wins MX2 Moto One

Coenen Wins MX2 Moto One

Jun 2

  • Race Report

The Nestaan Husqvarna rider Lucas Coenen continues his brilliant form by winning the opening MX2 moto in Germany today. A good start saw him lead from the first corner and while he had some hurry up from his team-mate, Kay De Wolf, he held on for the moto win. Third was Simon Langenfelder of the GasGas factory team.

Lucas Coenen: Yes, for sure, Kay was just behind me, but I managed to keep him behind me, but the lappers were in the way, not moving out of the way. I had a good race with Kay and hope we can do the same in the second moto.

Lucas Coenen led the opening MX2 moto from Langenfelder, Adamo, Elzinga, Prugnieres, De Wolf, Karssmakers, Sasha Coenen, Zanchi, Bruce and Everts 11th. De Wolf quickly into third place and then into second place on lap one. Everts into 10th and Haarup back in 26th place.

Everts into ninth place and on lap one it was Coenen, De Wolf, Langenfelder, Adamo, Elzinga, Karssmakers, Prugnieres, Zanchi, Everts and Oliver. Haarup up to 19th place. Everts into eight as he passed Zanchi, and American Chambers in 15th spot.

Zanchi moved past Everts and the Belgian collided with the back wheel of the HRC man and dropped down, getting up in 10th place. On lap two the lead by Coenen was 1.6 seconds over his team-mate De Wolf, then Langenfelder four seconds back in third, followed by Adamo, Elzinga, Karssmakers, Prugnieres, Zanchi, Oliver and Everts. Haarup doing well after a horrible start was up to 13th position.

Lap five and the lead was still around 1.5 between the two Husky men, then came Langenfelder some 8.6 seconds off the leader, then Adamo, Elzinga, Prugnieres, Zanchi, Karssmakers, Everts and Oliver. Haarup up to 11th, Chambers 12th and Sasha Coenen 14th.

Everts again a mistake as he dropped to 10th place, allowing Oliver once again past. Everts really struggling to keep Haarup behind him and on lap eight it was Lucas Coenen, De Wolf, Langenfelder, Adamo, Elzinga, Prugnieres, Zanchi, Oliver, Karssmakers and Everts 10th.

Coenen a small mistake and suddenly de Wolf was all over him and we have a battle for the lead. Everts moved past Karssmakers to go into ninth place and Haarup entered the top ten for the first time this moto.

Lapped riders everywhere, just to make the battle even more interesting. Not a lot happening throughout the moto with only the battle for the lead of interest. Zanchi and Prugnieres in a nice fight for sixth place as these two MX2 rookies put on a show. Everts moved past Oliver and into eight place.

With three laps remaining Coenen held a 1.4 second lead over De Wolf with Langenfelder in third place, some 20 seconds off the leaders pace. De Wolf made a couple of small mistakes and handed the win to Coenen. Coenen wins it from de Wolf and Langenfelder.

MX2 - Grand Prix Race 1 - Classification

1. Lucas Coenen (BEL, Husqvarna), 35:07.874; 2. Kay de Wolf (NED, Husqvarna), +0:03.664; 3. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GASGAS), +0:25.075; 4. Andrea Adamo (ITA, KTM), +0:54.760; 5. Rick Elzinga (NED, Yamaha), +0:59.138; 6. Quentin Marc Prugnieres (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:10.063; 7. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), +1:15.887; 8. Ferruccio Zanchi (ITA, Honda), +1:17.707; 9. Oriol Oliver (ESP, KTM), +1:35.788; 10. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, Triumph), +1:37.187; 11. Kay Karssemakers (NED, Fantic), +2:01.090; 12. Jack Chambers (USA, Kawasaki), +2:04.902; 13. Sacha Coenen (BEL, KTM), -1 lap(s); 14. Julius Mikula (CZE, KTM), -1 lap(s); 15. Peter Koenig (GER, KTM), -1 lap(s); 16. David Braceras (ESP, Fantic), -1 lap(s); 17. Jens Walvoort (NED, KTM), -1 lap(s); 18. Arvid Lüning (SWE, GASGAS), -1 lap(s); 19. Leopold Ambjörnson (SWE, Husqvarna), -1 lap(s); 20. Jan Krug (GER, Husqvarna), -1 lap(s); 21. Filip Olsson (SWE, KTM), -1 lap(s); 22. Dave Kooiker (NED, KTM), -1 lap(s); 23. Tom Schröder (GER, GASGAS), -1 lap(s); 24. Morgan Bennati (ITA, Kawasaki), -2 lap(s); 25. William Voxen Kleemann (DEN, KTM), -2 lap(s); 26. Federico Tuani (ITA, KTM), -2 lap(s); 27. Delvintor Alfarizi (INA, Honda), -3 lap(s); 28. Bobby Bruce (GBR, Kawasaki), -5 lap(s); 29. Nicolas Vennekens (BEL, GASGAS), -13 lap(s); 30. Sampo Rainio (FIN, KTM), -14 lap(s); 31. Scott Smulders (NED, Honda), -14 lap(s);

MX2 - World Championship Classification

1. Kay de Wolf (NED, HUS), 374 points; 2. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GAS), 313 p.; 3. Lucas Coenen (BEL, HUS), 312 p.; 4. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), 290 p.; 5. Andrea Adamo (ITA, KTM), 284 p.; 6. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, TRI), 234 p.; 7. Rick Elzinga (NED, YAM), 233 p.; 8. Thibault Benistant (FRA, YAM), 226 p.; 9. Sacha Coenen (BEL, KTM), 167 p.; 10. Quentin Marc Prugnieres (FRA, KAW), 144 p.; 11. Camden Mc Lellan (RSA, TRI), 126 p.; 12. Marc-Antoine Rossi (FRA, GAS), 122 p.; 13. Oriol Oliver (ESP, KTM), 110 p.; 14. Ferruccio Zanchi (ITA, HON), 110 p.; 15. Jack Chambers (USA, KAW), 102 p.; 16. Jens Walvoort (NED, KTM), 83 p.; 17. Andrea Bonacorsi (ITA, YAM), 83 p.; 18. Kay Karssemakers (NED, FAN), 66 p.; 19. Hakon Osterhagen (NOR, HON), 62 p.; 20. David Braceras (ESP, FAN), 60 p.; 21. Julius Mikula (CZE, KTM), 48 p.; 22. Yago Martinez (ESP, TM), 29 p.; 23. Leopold Ambjörnson (SWE, HUS), 26 p.; 24. Cas Valk (NED, KTM), 24 p.; 25. Bobby Bruce (GBR, KAW), 23 p.; 26. Hakon Fredriksen (NOR, KTM), 18 p.; 27. Dave Kooiker (NED, KTM), 16 p.; 28. Arvid Lüning (SWE, GAS), 14 p.; 29. Valerio Lata (ITA, GAS), 13 p.; 30. Federico Tuani (ITA, KTM), 10 p.; 31. William Voxen Kleemann (DEN, KTM), 9 p.; 32. Peter Koenig (GER, KTM), 6 p.; 33. Nicolai Skovbjerg (DEN, YAM), 6 p.; 34. Emil Weckman (FIN, KTM), 3 p.; 35. Thibault Maupin (FRA, GAS), 3 p.; 36. Samuel Nilsson (ESP, KTM), 3 p.; 37. Mads Fredsoe (DEN, GAS), 2 p.; 38. Jan Krug (GER, HUS), 1 p.;

Fullspectrum image

More similar articles

Jack Chambers interview - Euro Travels image

Jack Chambers interview - Euro Travels

Jun 20

  • Interview
Junior WC - Entries image

Junior WC - Entries

Jun 20

  • News