Coldenhoff wins Race One - China

Posted on September 15, 2019

Standing Construct KTM rider Glenn Coldenhoff probably picked up his best moto win of his career as he won it after a nice little battle with Jeffrey Herlings and Tim Gajser.

"It was another great race," Coldenhoff said. "I am so pumped I knew I needed a great gate pick and I was able to hold of Jeffrey and Tim."

In the first MXGP race of the day it was Coldenhoff who led from Seewer, Gajser, Herlings, Jonass, Jasikonis, Paulin, Van Horebeek, Monticelli and Tixier. Herlings was quickly into third place and relegating the MXGP champion to fourth.

After a lap the battle for first place between Coldenhoff and Seewer was intense, with Herlings three seconds back in third. Seewer who had passed Coldenhoff but was repassed then crashed in a corner and Herlings moved into second place.

Seewer again crashed as he dropped to seventh place. After two laps it was Coldenhoff with a four second lead over Herlings, then Gajser, Jonass, Jasikonis, Monticelli, Seewer, Van Horebeek, Paulin and Tixier.

Coldenhoff continued to control the race, although after five laps the lead was down to just over two seconds and Gajser was five seconds back in third place. The two Husky men Jonass and Jasikonis filled the remaining top five positions. Seewer was sixth, Monticelli seventh, Van Horebeek eight, Paulin ninth and Tixier in 10th.

The two Dutchmen remained first and second on lap seven, and the gap was three seconds and then Gajser third. Jonass and Seewer were in a good battle for fourth position, and Paulin moved into seventh place.

Nine laps and Herlings was just over two seconds behind Coldenhoff and making a move for the lead. 11 laps in and not a lot changed inside the top five, but Paulin dropped back to eight, and Tixier moved into ninth place.

Herlings was suddenly all over Coldenhoff as the race heated up and to make it even more exciting, Gajser joined the party. For a couple of laps the big three battled for the top spot, and the pace clearly went to another gear.

MXGP came alive again as Coldenhoff tried to fight off the 2018 and 2019 MXGP champions and Herlings and Gajser hounded the privateer rider. Coldenhoff hung in there to win it from Herlings and Gajser.

MXGP - Grand Prix Race 1 – Classification: 1. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 35:20.563; 2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:00.841; 3. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:02.268; 4. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:23.103; 5. Pauls Jonass (LAT, Husqvarna), +0:25.636; 6. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Husqvarna), +0:28.101; 7. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Honda), +0:31.951; 8. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:40.088; 9. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), +0:59.916; 10. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, KTM), +1:15.332; 11. Brian Bogers (NED, Honda), +1:53.396; 12. Tanel Leok (EST, Husqvarna), -1 lap(s); 13. Petar Petrov (BUL, KTM), -1 lap(s); 14. Nathan Renkens (BEL, KTM), -1 lap(s); 15. Chaiyan Romphan (THA, Yamaha), -3 lap(s); 16. Jianhao Xu (CHN, Yamaha), -3 lap(s); 17. Madjade Nakpane (TOG, Yamaha), -3 lap(s); 18. Francesco Galligari (ITA, Husqvarna), -4 lap(s); 19. Liansong Deng (CHN, KTM), -5 lap(s); 20. Tianwei Peng (CHN, KTM), -6 lap(s); 21. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Yamaha), -16 lap(s);