MXLarge Logo
De Wolf Wins Moto One - Lombok

De Wolf Wins Moto One - Lombok

Jun 30

  • Race Report

Nestaan Husqvarna factory rider Kay De Wolf has taken control again, with a strong showing in the opening moto of the day. The Dutchman, who leads the World MX2 points extended his lead (to 59pts) with the moto win and looked very comfortable in these warm and tricky conditions. Second was the defending World MX2 champion, Andrea Adamo and third was Mikkel Haarup of the Triumph factory team.

Kay De Wolf: That was a really good moto and after coming together with Mikkel last race, it was nice to see we could race hard up front. He was pushing and I am now looking forward to the second race.

Langengelder led the opening MX2 moto from Adamo, de Wolf, Lucas and Sasha Coenen, Haarup, McLellan, Everts, Oliver and Chambers in 10th. Haarup moved past Sasha Coenen and then passed twin brother Lucas as the rider from Triumph showing great speed.

Going to be difficult for the Belgians to make it eight GP wins in a row today going by the early going. Everts moved past McLellan and Adamo a mistake and both Haarup and Lucas Coenen made passes.

On lap one Langenfelder held a 2.7 second lead over de Wolf, with Haarup a couple of seconds off the pace of the red plate man, then came Adamo, Everts McLellan, Oliver, Reisulis and Chambers as Lucas Coenen crashed and dropped back to 13th position.

Elzinga moved into 10th place as he passed Chambers and Pruginieres and Coenen fighting over 12th place. McLellan repassed Everts and on lap two it was Langenfelder, de Wolf, Haarup, Adamo, Sasha Coenen, McLellan, Everts, Oliver, Reisulis and Elzinga in 10th. Lucas Coenen into 11th as he passed both Prugnieres and Chambers.

Lap five and it was a 2.7 second lead by Langenfelder over de Wolf, with Haarup 4.1 seconds off the leader, then came Adamo, Sasha Coenen, Everts, McLellan, Oliver, Reisulis and Lucas Coenen 10th. Chambers struggling somewhat as he dropped to 14th place.

A lap later Langenfelder had extended his lead to 3.1 and looking stronger than he has all season. The Dutchman in second was making sure his points lead was not suffering too much, which is what he has done all season long.

Oliver off the circuit and dropped back to 10th as Lucas Coenen moved into eight place. De Wolf not letting Langenfelder get away as on lap seven the lead was 1.7 seconds and then the German made a mistake, hanging de Wolf the lead and Haarup second place. On lap eight it was de Wolf, Haarup, Langenfelder, Adamo, Sasha Coenen, Everts, McLellan, Lucas Coenen, Reusulis and Oliver in 10th.

Haarup putting a lot of pressure on de Wolf for the lead and back in seventh and eighth, the other Husqvarna and Triumph factory riders, McLellan and Lucas Coenen were also battling. On lap 10 it was de Wolf, Haarup, Langenfelder, Adamo, Sasha Coenen, Everts, McLellan, Lucas Coenen, Reisulis and Oliver.

Adamo moved into third place as he moved past Langenfelder and Elzinga picked up 10th as Oliver dropped to 11th. Chambers was in 13th and trying his best to make progress and Zanchi was in 15th spot. Sasha Coenen also moved past Langenfelder, who might be suffering from the warmer weather.

On lap 12, Everts also passed Langenfelder and the top ten was de Wolf, Haarup, Adamo, Sasha Coenen, Everts, Langenfelder, McLellan, Lucas Coenen, Elzinga and Reisulis in 10th. The series points getting bigger now with de Wolf well ahead of his main rivals, Langenfelder and Lucas Coenen.

Haarup all over de Wolf for the lead and we might get a surprise winner in the head of Indonesia. De Wolf showing his class with the gap quickly 1.3 and the small mistake that allowed Haarup to catch the leader was quickly forgotten. Everts into fourth as he passed team-mate Coenen, and on lap 15 it was de Wolf, Haarup, Adamo, Everts, Sasha Coenen, Langenfelder, Lucas Coenen, McLellan, Elzinga and Prugnieres. De Wolf wins from Haarup and Adamo.

MX2 - Grand Prix Race 1 - Classification

1. Kay de Wolf (NED, Husqvarna), 35:10.052; 2. Andrea Adamo (ITA, KTM), +0:02.638; 3. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, Triumph), +0:11.678; 4. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), +0:19.781; 5. Sacha Coenen (BEL, KTM), +0:23.319; 6. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GASGAS), +0:36.206; 7. Lucas Coenen (BEL, Husqvarna), +0:39.953; 8. Camden Mc Lellan (RSA, Triumph), +0:56.497; 9. Rick Elzinga (NED, Yamaha), +1:26.088; 10. Quentin Marc Prugnieres (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:29.423; 11. Jack Chambers (USA, Kawasaki), +1:31.395; 12. Kay Karssemakers (NED, Fantic), +1:32.300; 13. Karlis Alberts Reisulis (LAT, Yamaha), +1:44.922; 14. Ferruccio Zanchi (ITA, Honda), +1:47.748; 15. Jens Walvoort (NED, KTM), +1:53.334; 16. Oriol Oliver (ESP, KTM), +2:10.696; 17. Leopold Ambjörnson (SWE, Husqvarna), -1 lap(s); 18. Jiraj Wannalak (THA, KTM), -1 lap(s); 19. Delvintor Alfarizi (INA, Honda), -1 lap(s); 20. Muhammad Arsenio Algifari (INA, Honda), -1 lap(s); 21. Nakami Vidi Makarim (INA, KTM), -2 lap(s); 22. David Braceras (ESP, Fantic), -13 lap(s);

MX2 - World Championship Classification

1. Kay de Wolf (NED, HUS), 507 points; 2. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GAS), 448 p.; 3. Lucas Coenen (BEL, HUS), 445 p.; 4. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), 418 p.; 5. Andrea Adamo (ITA, KTM), 397 p.; 6. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, TRI), 339 p.; 7. Rick Elzinga (NED, YAM), 312 p.; 8. Sacha Coenen (BEL, KTM), 294 p.; 9. Thibault Benistant (FRA, YAM), 226 p.; 10. Quentin Marc Prugnieres (FRA, KAW), 208 p.; 11. Oriol Oliver (ESP, KTM), 184 p.; 12. Ferruccio Zanchi (ITA, HON), 182 p.; 13. Camden Mc Lellan (RSA, TRI), 141 p.; 14. Jack Chambers (USA, KAW), 134 p.; 15. Jens Walvoort (NED, KTM), 123 p.; 16. Marc-Antoine Rossi (FRA, GAS), 122 p.; 17. Kay Karssemakers (NED, FAN), 107 p.; 18. David Braceras (ESP, FAN), 91 p.; 19. Andrea Bonacorsi (ITA, YAM), 83 p.; 20. Julius Mikula (CZE, KTM), 75 p.; 21. Hakon Osterhagen (NOR, HON), 62 p.; 22. Valerio Lata (ITA, KTM), 55 p.; 23. Yago Martinez (ESP, TM), 39 p.; 24. Cas Valk (NED, KTM), 36 p.; 25. Leopold Ambjörnson (SWE, HUS), 34 p.; 26. Bobby Bruce (GBR, KAW), 32 p.; 27. Dave Kooiker (NED, KTM), 27 p.; 28. Arvid Lüning (SWE, GAS), 20 p.; 29. Hakon Fredriksen (NOR, KTM), 18 p.; 30. Ivano Van Erp (NED, YAM), 13 p.; 31. William Voxen Kleemann (DEN, KTM), 13 p.; 32. Karlis Alberts Reisulis (LAT, YAM), 11 p.; 33. Federico Tuani (ITA, KTM), 10 p.; 34. Peter Koenig (GER, KTM), 9 p.; 35. Nicolai Skovbjerg (DEN, YAM), 6 p.; 36. Filip Olsson (SWE, KTM), 5 p.; 37. Emil Weckman (FIN, KTM), 3 p.; 38. Thibault Maupin (FRA, GAS), 3 p.; 39. Jiraj Wannalak (THA, KTM), 3 p.; 40. Samuel Nilsson (ESP, KTM), 3 p.; 41. Delvintor Alfarizi (INA, HON), 2 p.; 42. Mads Fredsoe (DEN, GAS), 2 p.; 43. Gavin Towers (USA, YAM), 1 p.; 44. Jan Krug (GER, HUS), 1 p.; 45. Maximilian Werner (GER, HON), 1 p.; 46. Muhammad Arsenio Algifari (INA, HON), 1 p.;

Fullspectrum image

More similar articles

World Juniors - Highlights image

World Juniors - Highlights

Jul 15

  • Video
Chase Sexton interview - Winner image

Chase Sexton interview - Winner

Jul 15

  • Interview