MXLarge Logo
De Wolf Wins Moto One - MX2

De Wolf Wins Moto One - MX2

Jun 9

  • Race Report

Nestaan Husqvarna factory rider Kay De Wolf put on a masterclass in the opening MX2 moto of the Latvian Grand Prix, after starting in second, before being passed by team-mate Lucas Coenen, then passing early leader Sasha Coenen and Lucas to win the moto easily. Second was Lucas Coenen and third Sasha Coenen.

Sasha Coenen another holeshot in the opening MX2 moto, then de Wolf, Langenfelder, Lucas Coenen, Adamo, Everts, Zanchi, Oliver, Walvoort and Prugnieres in 10th. Elzinga 13th, Chambers 21st and Haarup last in 28th place.

Zanchi slipped over and dropped to 15th and Karssemakers into the top ten. On lap two it was still Sasha leading from de Wolf and Lucas Coenen, then Langenfelder, Everts, Adamo, Oliver, Walvoort, Prugnieres and Karssemakers. Chambers last after a crash and Haarup up to 18th position. Everts also crashed and dropped to seventh and then soon after Adamo also crashed and fell back to 11th.

Lap five and the lead by Sasha Coenen was just a bike length over De Wolf, with Lucas Coenen some 2.6 seconds back, then came Langenfelder, Oliver, Everts, Prugnieres, Karssemakers, Walvoort, Elzinga into 10th. Adamo now in 20th place and really struggling.

De Wolf continued to hound Sasha Coenen, but the little Belgian is really showing much better consistency up front and remains in control of the lead. Haarup up to 13th place and Chambers struggling in 26th place. Lucas Coenen passed De Wolf and was now all over his brother. De Wolf ran off the track and came very close to hitting an advertising board at a very high speed.

Lucas all over Sasha for the lead as the two twins rule the World in this moto. De Wolf not done yet, but his heart must be beating fast. De Wolf back on track as the Benelux hold down first, second and third.

De Wolf back in second as he takes a wild pass on his team-mate and then de Wolf passed Sasha to take the lead, just as his pit-board said go time. On lap eight it was De Wolf, Lucas Coenen, Sasha Coenen, Langenfelder, Oliver, Everts, Prugnieres, Elzinga, Karssemakers, and Walvoort in 10th. Adamo up to 16th place.

Lap 11 and the dark clouds start to hover over the Kegums circuit, with de Wolf leading by three seconds over Lucas Coenen, then Sasha Coenen, Langenfelder, Oliver, Everts, Elzinga, Prugnieres, Haarup, and Walvoort. A lap later the lead by De Wolf was 5.7 seconds over his team-mate. De Wolf wins from Lucas and Sasha Coenen.

MX2 - Grand Prix Race 1 - Classification

1. Kay de Wolf (NED, Husqvarna), 35:07.196; 2. Lucas Coenen (BEL, Husqvarna), +0:02.853; 3. Sacha Coenen (BEL, KTM), +0:20.027; 4. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GASGAS), +0:35.495; 5. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), +0:47.451; 6. Oriol Oliver (ESP, KTM), +1:04.675; 7. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, Triumph), +1:11.179; 8. Rick Elzinga (NED, Yamaha), +1:21.322; 9. Quentin Marc Prugnieres (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:22.884; 10. Julius Mikula (CZE, KTM), +1:30.275; 11. Jens Walvoort (NED, KTM), +1:32.299; 12. Kay Karssemakers (NED, Fantic), +1:33.093; 13. Andrea Adamo (ITA, KTM), +1:48.475; 14. David Braceras (ESP, Fantic), +1:54.448; 15. Ferruccio Zanchi (ITA, Honda), +2:01.040; 16. Arvid Lüning (SWE, GASGAS), -1 lap(s); 17. Jack Chambers (USA, Kawasaki), -1 lap(s); 18. Bobby Bruce (GBR, Kawasaki), -1 lap(s); 19. Filip Olsson (SWE, KTM), -1 lap(s); 20. Dave Kooiker (NED, KTM), -1 lap(s); 21. William Voxen Kleemann (DEN, KTM), -1 lap(s); 22. Sampo Rainio (FIN, KTM), -1 lap(s); 23. Yago Martinez (ESP, TM), -1 lap(s); 24. Leopold Ambjörnson (SWE, Husqvarna), -1 lap(s); 25. Delvintor Alfarizi (INA, Honda), -1 lap(s); 26. Erlandas Mackonis (LTU, KTM), -1 lap(s); 27. Nicolas Vennekens (BEL, GASGAS), -1 lap(s); 28. Oscar Brix (DEN, KTM), -2 lap(s);

MX2 - World Championship Classification

1. Kay de Wolf (NED, HUS), 431 points; 2. Lucas Coenen (BEL, HUS), 368 p.; 3. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GAS), 359 p.; 4. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), 323 p.; 5. Andrea Adamo (ITA, KTM), 314 p.; 6. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, TRI), 272 p.; 7. Rick Elzinga (NED, YAM), 262 p.; 8. Thibault Benistant (FRA, YAM), 226 p.; 9. Sacha Coenen (BEL, KTM), 203 p.; 10. Quentin Marc Prugnieres (FRA, KAW), 165 p.; 11. Oriol Oliver (ESP, KTM), 141 p.; 12. Ferruccio Zanchi (ITA, HON), 131 p.; 13. Camden Mc Lellan (RSA, TRI), 126 p.; 14. Marc-Antoine Rossi (FRA, GAS), 122 p.; 15. Jack Chambers (USA, KAW), 111 p.; 16. Jens Walvoort (NED, KTM), 100 p.; 17. Kay Karssemakers (NED, FAN), 85 p.; 18. Andrea Bonacorsi (ITA, YAM), 83 p.; 19. David Braceras (ESP, FAN), 76 p.; 20. Hakon Osterhagen (NOR, HON), 62 p.; 21. Julius Mikula (CZE, KTM), 59 p.; 22. Bobby Bruce (GBR, KAW), 32 p.; 23. Yago Martinez (ESP, TM), 29 p.; 24. Leopold Ambjörnson (SWE, HUS), 26 p.; 25. Cas Valk (NED, KTM), 24 p.; 26. Dave Kooiker (NED, KTM), 21 p.; 27. Arvid Lüning (SWE, GAS), 20 p.; 28. Hakon Fredriksen (NOR, KTM), 18 p.; 29. Valerio Lata (ITA, GAS), 13 p.; 30. William Voxen Kleemann (DEN, KTM), 11 p.; 31. Federico Tuani (ITA, KTM), 10 p.; 32. Peter Koenig (GER, KTM), 9 p.; 33. Nicolai Skovbjerg (DEN, YAM), 6 p.; 34. Emil Weckman (FIN, KTM), 3 p.; 35. Thibault Maupin (FRA, GAS), 3 p.; 36. Samuel Nilsson (ESP, KTM), 3 p.; 37. Filip Olsson (SWE, KTM), 2 p.; 38. Mads Fredsoe (DEN, GAS), 2 p.; 39. Jan Krug (GER, HUS), 1 p.;

Fullspectrum image

More similar articles

Jack Chambers interview - Euro Travels image

Jack Chambers interview - Euro Travels

Jun 20

  • Interview
Junior WC - Entries image

Junior WC - Entries

Jun 20

  • News