MXLarge Logo
Gajser Wins Moto One - Maggiora

Gajser Wins Moto One - Maggiora

Jun 16

  • Race Report

HRC rider Tim Gajser has won the opening moto in a brilliant race between the three best motocross rider in the World. Second was Jorge Prado and third Jeffrey Herlings. Gajser extends his championship points lead and is as we speak, the man to beat in this championship.

Tim Gajser: I had a good start, I was second, then third and I made two quick passes and I started riding tight. It wasn't easy, they were coming and fast.

Seewer with the lead in the opening MXGP moto and Gajser into second, Prado third and Herlings fourth. Vlaanderen moved past Herlings and into fourth and then came Guillod, Bogers, Gifting, Horgmo, and Bonacorsi.

Herlings trying to do everything to get back past Vlaanderen, who will without doubt slow his progress as Herlings already four seconds off the lead of Seewer, with Gajser right on the Kawasaki back wheel. Herlings did make his way past Vlaanderen and onto Prado.

Seewer led, but Gajser really looking aggressive and looking for the lead and the two side by side on several corners as Gajser took the lead and very, very hungry for a win today. Seewer a mistake and crashed as Prado, Herlings and Vlaanderen moves past. So its Gajser, Prado and Herlings top three, YES!!!!

Prado definitely seems to have lost that advantage he has from no off-season as Gajser finding best speed and momentum. Prado not giving up in second though as they got away from Herlings. On lap three the lead by Gajser was two seconds over Prado, with Herlings five seconds off the leader.

Gajser slowly edging away from Prado and both guys getting away from Herlings, who on lap four was six seconds back. He can’t let it get too big a gap. Lap six and it was Gajser with a four second lead, then Prado, he was three seconds ahead of Herlings, but you get the feeling Herlings was catching the Spaniard. Then came Vlaanderen, Seewer, Bogers, Guillod, Coldenhoff, Horgmo, and Bonacorsi.

As expected, Herlings was all over Prado and just five seconds off the lead. Herlings quickest lap of the race and now both riders are less than five seconds off the leader. 11 minutes to go and as often said, Herlings usually makes his moto charge with 10 minutes remaining. Lets see what happens.

Lap 12 and it was Gajser with a two second lead over Prado and Herlings on the back wheel of the World champion. Its coming down to the wire it seems. Vlaanderen fourth, then Seewer, Bogers, Coldenhoff, Guillod, Bonacorsi and Paturel.

Prado a mistake and he lost ground on Gajser and Herlings was all over the back wheel of the GasGas rider. Herlings all over the back wheel and looking dangerous. This moto is anyones. Two minutes and two laps and Gajser gets away a little, but Herlings not giving Prado any rest.

Prado suddenly all over Gajser and Herlings lost a little time, but these three are separated by just a second with two laps remaining. Gajser pushed his way past a lapped rider and Prado does the same, but Herlings held up.

Gajser looking very smooth and in control up front. What a rider is this HRC man. A win here goes a long way in winning the Grand Prix. Gajser has without doubt taken over the role of favourite in 2024.

MXGP - Grand Prix Race 1 - Classification

1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 33:55.146; 2. Jorge Prado (ESP, GASGAS), +0:01.374; 3. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:02.321; 4. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, Yamaha), +0:29.700; 5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Kawasaki), +0:34.573; 6. Brian Bogers (NED, Fantic), +0:51.398; 7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Fantic), +0:59.333; 8. Andrea Bonacorsi (ITA, Yamaha), +1:04.229; 9. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Honda), +1:06.397; 10. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +1:07.617; 11. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, Honda), +1:08.699; 12. Jan Pancar (SLO, KTM), +1:32.925; 13. Giuseppe Tropepe (ITA, Honda), +1:36.068; 14. Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, Husqvarna), +1:38.397; 15. Alvin Östlund (SWE, Honda), +2:02.376; 16. Cornelius Toendel (NOR, KTM), -1 lap(s); 17. Maximilian Spies (GER, KTM), -1 lap(s); 18. Stefano Pezzuto (ITA, Honda), -1 lap(s); 19. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, Beta), -1 lap(s); 20. Mark Scheu (GER, Husqvarna), -1 lap(s); 21. Emilio Scuteri (ITA, Honda), -1 lap(s); 22. Simone Croci (ITA, Honda), -1 lap(s); 23. Isak Gifting (SWE, Yamaha), -1 lap(s); 24. Nikolaj Skovgaard (DEN, KTM), -2 lap(s); 25. Filippo Zonta (ITA, KTM), -2 lap(s); 26. Mirko Dal Bosco (ITA, KTM), -14 lap(s); 27. Kevin Brumann (SUI, Husqvarna), -16 lap(s);

More similar articles

World Juniors - Highlights image

World Juniors - Highlights

Jul 15

  • Video
Chase Sexton interview - Winner image

Chase Sexton interview - Winner

Jul 15

  • Interview