Geerts Wins Moto One - MX2

Posted on August 12, 2020

Monster Energy Yamaha rider Jago Geerts has won the opening MX2 moto at the MXGP of Riga today. Unlike last Sunday the Belgian rider showed smarts as he followed early leader Tom Vialle, before pouncing and walking away from the Frenchman, who slowly lost places to finish fourth.

“It was a really good race for me. I had a good start and then Tom passed me on the second corner and then I made a mistake and he passed me back. I was able to repass him and win the race. I am really looking forward to the second one.”

F&H Kawasaki rider Roan Van de Moosdijk and Mathys Boisrame finished second and third, and to make the Kawasaki teams opening race nice, Mikkel Haarup also finished top ten.

Geerts led the start of the first MX2 moto from Vialle, Van de Moosdijk, Boisrame, Laengenfelder, Watson, Olsen, Rubini, Malkiewicz, and Renaux 10th. Hofer and Beaton nearly last and down in the first corner.

Vialle quickly into the lead as Watson retired from the race with what seemed a machine problem. Geerts this time seemingly willing to follow Vialle, rather than push too hard and make another mistake.

Geerts made a slight effort in a corner and lost a little ground on Vialle and Van De Moosdijk keeping the two leaders in his sights. Boisrame also pushing hard with Olsen behind him. Van de Moosdijk all over Geerts for second place. Beaton on fire in 15th place and taking a lot of passes in the first two laps. Aussies chasing as Crawford is 11th, Malkiewicz 12th and Beaton 14th.

After three laps it was Vialle, Geerts, Van de Moosdijk, Boisrame, Olsen, Laengenfelder, Renaux, Haarup, Genot and Rubini 10th. Geerts into the lead on lap four and makes a small break from the Frenchman. Beaton into 12th place and his fellow Aussies on each side as Crawford was 11th and Malkiewicz in 13th.

Seven laps and Geerts lead was nearly four seconds over Vialle, with Van de Moosdijk in third, followed by Boisrame, Olsen, Laengenfelder, Renaux, Haarup, Genot, and Rubini 10th. Another two laps and the lead was nearly seven seconds and Beaton into the top ten as he continued to chase Crawford.

An exciting time as Geerts, Vialle and Van de Moosdijk all together on the track, as the Dutchman moved into second place and Boisrame also right on Vialle. Van de Moosdijk trying to put pressure on Geerts for the lead and Boisrame passed Vialle for third place. The F&H Kawasaki boys looking to take some serious points today.

Geerts looking in complete control as he leads from Van de Moosdijk, Boisrame, Vialle, Olsen, Renaux, Haarup, Laengenfelder, Crawford, and Beaton 10th. Geerts wins it from Van de Moosdijk and Boisrame.

MX2 - Grand Prix Race 1 – Classification: 1. Jago Geerts (BEL, Yamaha), 34:34.944; 2. Roan Van De Moosdijk (NED, Kawasaki), +0:06.931; 3. Mathys Boisrame (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:15.342; 4. Tom Vialle (FRA, KTM), +0:18.595; 5. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, Husqvarna), +0:19.252; 6. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, Kawasaki), +0:30.541; 7. Maxime Renaux (FRA, Yamaha), +0:31.462; 8. Jed Beaton (AUS, Husqvarna), +0:39.086; 9. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GASGAS), +0:55.019; 10. Stephen Rubini (FRA, Honda), +0:56.005; 11. Cyril Genot (BEL, Yamaha), +0:57.337; 12. Ruben Fernandez (ESP, Yamaha), +0:58.572; 13. Alvin Östlund (SWE, Honda), +1:08.353; 14. Conrad Mewse (GBR, KTM), +1:11.369; 15. Josh Gilbert (GBR, Husqvarna), +1:18.406; 16. Richard Sikyna (SVK, KTM), +1:20.261; 17. Rene Hofer (AUT, KTM), +1:27.335; 18. Alberto Forato (ITA, Husqvarna), +1:30.805; 19. Bailey Malkiewicz (AUS, Honda), +1:34.940; 20. Hardi Roosiorg (EST, KTM), +1:37.534; 21. Morgan Lesiardo (ITA, KTM), +1:44.732; 22. Jakub Teresak (CZE, KTM), +2:03.087; 23. Ashton Dickinson (GBR, KTM), -1 lap(s); 24. Enzo Toriani (FRA, Husqvarna), -1 lap(s); 25. Jere Haavisto (FIN, Yamaha), -1 lap(s); 26. Johannes Nermann (EST, Husqvarna), -1 lap(s); 27. Jan Pancar (SLO, KTM), -1 lap(s); 28. Joakin Furbetta (ITA, KTM), -1 lap(s); 29. Nathan Crawford (AUS, Honda), -4 lap(s); 30. Bas Vaessen (NED, KTM), -5 lap(s); 31. Petr Polak (CZE, Yamaha), -10 lap(s); 32. Nathan Renkens (BEL, KTM), -11 lap(s); 33. Matias Vesterinen (FIN, KTM), -11 lap(s); 34. Ben Watson (GBR, Yamaha), -17 lap(s);

Yamaha image