Geerts Wins Saturday

Posted on May 14, 2022

Monster Energy Yamaha rider Jago Geerts continues his impressive run at the moment with victory in the MX2 qualification race in Italy today. Around the very tough sand circuit the Belgian took the lead early from his team-mate Thibault Benistant and walked away with the victory.

Jago Geerts: I thought I had the holeshot, but drifted wide and a couple of riders came under me. I found my good lines and took the lead. It is hot out there, so we will see how it goes tomorrow.

Benistant, Horgmo, Geerts, Mewse, Langenfelder, Boegh Damm, Adamo, Gifting, Karssmakers, and Rubini in 10th. Vialle was 11th. Geerts took the lead and on lap seven the top ten was Geerts, Horgmo, Benistant, Langenfelder, Mewse, Adamo, Vialle, Brumann, Fredrricksen, Haarup in 10th. Liam Everts was 13th and Rubini 11th.

Adamo made some big moves to pass Boegh Damm and Mewse to move into fifth place and on lap nine it was Geerts, Benistant, Horgmo, Langenfelder, Adamo, Mewse, Vialle, Brumann, Haarup and Rubini in 10th. Everts was up to 11th place.

Vialle moved past Mewse to drop the British rider back to seventh, and Everts rode his way into the top ten as he passed Brumann. On lap 11 the top ten was Geerts, Benistant, Horgmo, Langenfelder, Adamo, Vialle, Mewse, Haarup, Everts and Brumann.

Adamo made a mistake and dropped to seventh, letting Vialle and Mewse past. Geerts took the win from Bensitant and Horgmo.

MX2 - Qualifying Race - Classification

1. Jago Geerts (BEL, Yamaha), 24:46.541; 2. Thibault Benistant (FRA, Yamaha), +0:06.365; 3. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, Kawasaki), +0:09.963; 4. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GASGAS), +0:11.386; 5. Tom Vialle (FRA, KTM), +0:15.825; 6. Conrad Mewse (GBR, KTM), +0:26.064; 7. Andrea Adamo (ITA, GASGAS), +0:33.368; 8. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, Kawasaki), +0:45.596; 9. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), +0:47.547; 10. Kevin Brumann (SUI, Yamaha), +0:54.545; 11. Stephen Rubini (FRA, Honda), +0:55.500; 12. Kay Karssemakers (NED, KTM), +1:01.302; 13. Bastian Boegh Damm (DEN, KTM), +1:02.847; 14. Jan Pancar (SLO, KTM), +1:30.304; 15. Valerio Lata (ITA, KTM), +1:33.849; 16. Filip Olsson (SWE, Husqvarna), +1:41.507; 17. Joel Rizzi (GBR, Yamaha), +1:50.066; 18. Hakon Fredriksen (NOR, Honda), -1 lap(s); 19. Jakub Teresak (CZE, KTM), -1 lap(s); 20. Isak Gifting (SWE, KTM), -7 lap(s); 21. Petr Polak (CZE, Honda), -13 lap(s);

Yamaha image