HRC Dominate - Gallery

Posted on March 20, 2023

The last time Honda’s factory team won the premier and support classes was at the 1993 Indianapolis round, where Jeremy McGrath and Doug Henry did the honors. Honda’s support-class effort was later handled by Factory Connection, and at the 2020 Atlanta round, Ken Roczen and then-Factory Connection rider Sexton topped 450SX and 250SX East, respectively.

Having come tantalizingly close on a number of occasions this year, Team Honda HRC finally completed an AMA Supercross win sweep at round 10 in Detroit, with Chase Sexton topping the premier division and Hunter Lawrence ruling the 250SX East Region category.

To earn his premier-class main-event win, Sexton had to pass some of the class’s top riders. Following an eighth-place start, he quickly moved up a spot, then passed Ken Roczen for sixth on lap 2. He displaced Adam Cianciarulo for fifth two laps later, moved around Eli Tomac on lap 8 and got Cooper Webb for third on lap 10. One lap later he came out on top of a scrap with Justin Barcia to assume second place, and he set out after Aaron Plessinger, who had a lead of over eight seconds. Sexton shrunk the gap to as low as 3.5 seconds before Plessinger crashed two laps from the end, helping the CRF450R to take the win.

Meanwhile, the 250SX East main event saw Lawrence snare the holeshot and check out. Five minutes in, he had an advantage of more than three seconds over second place, and he added another second by the 10-minute mark. At the finish, the Australian was 7.6 seconds ahead, for his fifth win in six rounds.

It was indicated by NBC during the broadcast, Hunter Lawrence’s Detroit performance moved him into a tie with brother Jett for career 250SX wins (10 each), and also for top-five finishes (22 each). Both brothers have 27 starts, and Hunter has one more podium than Jett (19 compared to 18). NBC also pointed out that Hunter has led every main-event lap since Daytona (51 laps straight).

Sexton’s win put Honda in a tie with Yamaha for most premier-class AMA Supercross wins in Michigan, with 20 (including races at both Pontiac Silverdome and Ford Field). It also added him to the list of Honda-mounted Ford Field winners, with Davi Millsaps and Eli Tomac.

Lawrence’s success stretched Honda’s support-class-best Michigan win record to 13, five of which have come at Ford Field (Josh Grant, Justin Bogle, Malcolm Stewart, Jett Lawrence and Hunter Lawrence).