Jasikonis on Pole - Stunning Qualification

Posted on August 12, 2020

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna rider Arminas Jasikonis blew the doors off the MXGP class with a stunning lap time to finish on pole position for this afternoon’s two MXGP moto’s.

“It is great,” Jasikonis said. “The track is faster than last Sunday, and I made a clear lap at the end and happy I have the speed and now we go for the races.”

Have to love the new format with timed practice and then timed qualification straight after. Really gives a great vibe on the Sunday morning as riders first check the track in the times practice and then go out and bust their balls to get pole position. A lot like F1 or MotoGP and really enjoyable to watch. Short and sharp Sunday mornings and then onto the racing Sunday afternoon. Many of the GP riders love it as do I.

Watching Herlings ride around preparing for a fast lap and a few slower riders following him, well for a corner or two at least. A quickest time for the Dutchman, but so many guys pushing to beat the sand master. Sure enough, Tim Gajser then went quicker than Herlings, as Jasikonis also put in a quick time for third fastest and then puts in a time to pass Herlings for second fastest.

Several riders looking super-fast in MXGP in qualification and man, I love this Covid-19 format. It is like watching a race outside a race. Herlings on another fast lap and looking faster than his previous quick lap and the KTM crew looked confident, but not enough for fastest time and “The Bullet” was down in fourth fastest.

Vlaanderen quick, Paulin quick, Van Horebeek quick, Tonus quick, so many guys fighting for a top five position!!! You have riders like Cairoli, Prado and Febvre in 10th, 11th and 12th fastest spots as this MXGP class just oozes talent and speed.

Jasikonis went to the top of the list with the quickest time, and then Paulin looked quick, but could only get to fifth place. Nearly 10 guys on the same second. Racing this afternoon will be very interesting.

Cairoli goes to sixth fastest, and Herlings lurking and looking for a fast lap as riders swap positions in this really exciting timed qualification. Five minutes to go and Herlings begins another fast lap.

Vlaanderen in the top spot and Herlings moves to second fastest and Gajser third. Desalle does his first really good time to move into seventh place, and Sunday’s winner Coldenhoff down in 11th spot.

Jasikonis on fire as he goes to the top and WOW, a 1.53.685 for the Lithuanian. Tonus then clocked a 1.53.985 for second fastest. Brilliant entertainment as the fastest motocross riders in the World continue to amaze us.

MXGP - Time Practice – Classification: 1. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Husqvarna), 1:53.685; 2. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:00.300; 3. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, Yamaha), +0:00.388; 4. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:00.489; 5. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:00.508; 6. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:00.895; 7. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:01.043; 8. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:01.425; 9. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:01.482; 10. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Honda), +0:01.529; 11. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GASGAS), +0:01.543; 12. Romain Febvre (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:01.617; 13. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), +0:02.071; 14. Michele Cervellin (ITA, Yamaha), +0:02.386; 15. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, GASGAS), +0:02.469; 16. Mitchell Evans (AUS, Honda), +0:02.659; 17. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), +0:02.737; 18. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Husqvarna), +0:02.836; 19. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), +0:03.103; 20. Adam Sterry (GBR, KTM), +0:03.317; 21. Nicholas Lapucci (ITA, KTM), +0:03.515; 22. Henry Jacobi (GER, Yamaha), +0:03.694; 23. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Yamaha), +0:03.883; 24. Karlis Sabulis (LAT, KTM), +0:04.224; 25. Petar Petrov (BUL, KTM), +0:04.410; 26. Tom Koch (GER, KTM), +0:05.150; 27. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Honda), +0:05.368; 28. Tanel Leok (EST, Husqvarna), +0:06.269; 29. Anton Gole (SWE, Honda), +0:06.269; 30. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Honda), +0:06.533; 31. Thomas Covington (USA, Yamaha), +0:07.265; 32. Samuele Bernardini (ITA, Yamaha), +0:07.567; 33. Matiss Karro (LAT, Husqvarna), +0:08.276; 34. Artem Guryev (RUS, Honda), +0:10.131;

MXGP - Free Practice – Classification: 1. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, Yamaha), 1:56.684; 2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:00.498; 3. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Husqvarna), +0:00.535; 4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:01.608; 5. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Yamaha), +0:01.611; 6. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), +0:01.720; 7. Michele Cervellin (ITA, Yamaha), +0:01.768; 8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, GASGAS), +0:02.254; 9. Anton Gole (SWE, Honda), +0:02.421; 10. Henry Jacobi (GER, Yamaha), +0:02.945; 11. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Husqvarna), +0:03.026; 12. Petar Petrov (BUL, KTM), +0:03.170; 13. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:03.300; 14. Nicholas Lapucci (ITA, KTM), +0:03.513; 15. Adam Sterry (GBR, KTM), +0:03.802; 16. Tom Koch (GER, KTM), +0:03.859; 17. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Honda), +0:04.006; 18. Mitchell Evans (AUS, Honda), +0:04.480; 19. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), +0:04.543; 20. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Honda), +0:05.647; 21. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), +0:06.002; 22. Thomas Covington (USA, Yamaha), +0:06.004; 23. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:06.297; 24. Karlis Sabulis (LAT, KTM), +0:06.860; 25. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, GASGAS), +0:06.884; 26. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:07.069; 27. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:07.663; 28. Romain Febvre (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:09.449; 29. Samuele Bernardini (ITA, Yamaha), +0:09.943; 30. Artem Guryev (RUS, Honda), +0:09.971; 31. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Honda), +0:09.975; 32. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:10.225; 33. Matiss Karro (LAT, Husqvarna), +0:11.823; 34. Tanel Leok (EST, Husqvarna), +0:30.143;

Juan Pablo Acevedo image