MXLarge Logo
Lucas Coenen - Victorious in Lombok

Lucas Coenen - Victorious in Lombok

Jul 7

  • News

Nestaan Husqvarna factory rider Lucas Coenen has once again put together a 1-1 performance as he continues the build on the points lead of his team-mate Kay De Wolf. Coenen was really in a class of his own in the stifling heat of Indonesia and goes to Loket in two weeks’ time with a lot of momentum. He had also won the MX2 qualifier on the Saturday.

On the Island known as the “Island of 1,000 Mosques,” it was fitting that Coenen crossed the finish line to the haunting music that echoed from the mosque across from the circuit. Once again, we say goodbye to Indonesia for the MX2 class and a very fitting winner. Mikkel Haarup finished second overall with 4-3 results and third overall was Simon Langenfelder with 2-5.

Lucas Coenen: From my seat, the second moto was way better than the first one. I had some good battles, and I did the usual and good to be back on top. Looking forward to the next one now. First race was difficult as the temperature is high. I cool down well and in the second race took my time and got the win.

MX2 Moto Two

Langenfelder led the second MX2 moto from the Coenen brothers and de Wolf, although Sasha went down hard after a handful of corners, Everts was fourth, then Haarup, Adamo, Braceras, Oliver, Elzinga and Zachi in 10th. Lucas Coenen and De Wolf swapping paint as they banged bars. Sasha Coenen was back in 21st spot.

Lucas Coenen into the lead as he passed Langenfelder, then de Wolf, Everts, Haarup, Adamo, Oliver, Braceras, Elzinga, and Reisulis 10th. Chambers 11th and McLellan in 13th. Zanchi a mistake and back in 15th spot. Two laps in and the lead by Lucas Coenen was three seconds, with de Wolf a further second back.

De Wolf all over Langenfelder for second place and Everts and Adamo not that far back either. Sasha Coenen up to 16th place and charging hard to get back inside the top ten. Adamo took out Everts as they both went down. Haarup moved past both and they lost miles of time on the front guys.

De Wolf a little wild as he tried to pass Langenfelder and the lead was now seven seconds between Lucas Coenen and Langenfelder. Adamo passed Everts in something of a block pass, and he moved into fifth place. Sasha Coenen crashed again and dropped to 17th.

Lap seven and it was Lucas Coenen with a 12 second lead over Langenfelder, as De Wolf crashed and dropped back to sixth place. Third was now Haarup, then Adamo, Everts, De Wolf, Elzinga, McLellan, Oliver, Braceras in 10th. Haarup all over Langenfelder, who has struggling in the warm weather before.

Lap 10 and Haarup into second place and with 10 minutes and two laps remaining, the gap to Lucas Coenen was 11.3 seconds. Adamo all over Langenfelder for third position and Everts not that far back either. Everts slipped over and again lost miles of time on the front men. Adamo chasing Haarup for second position in the final laps of the moto.

Lap 13 it was Lucas Coenen with a 10 second gap over Haarup, then Adamo, Langenfelder, Everts, de Wolf, McLellan, Elzinga, Oliver and Braceras in 10th. Lucas Coenen wins the moto and the Grand Prix. His second Indonesian GP victory in 12 months. Adamo was second and Haarup third.

MX2 - Grand Prix Race 1 - Classification

1. Lucas Coenen (BEL, Husqvarna), 33:56.609; 2. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GASGAS), +0:04.273; 3. Kay de Wolf (NED, Husqvarna), +0:05.096; 4. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, Triumph), +0:12.029; 5. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), +0:20.389; 6. Andrea Adamo (ITA, KTM), +0:53.457; 7. Sacha Coenen (BEL, KTM), +0:56.826; 8. Camden Mc Lellan (RSA, Triumph), +1:08.826; 9. Ferruccio Zanchi (ITA, Honda), +1:11.541; 10. Oriol Oliver (ESP, KTM), +1:14.062; 11. Quentin Marc Prugnieres (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:18.409; 12. Karlis Alberts Reisulis (LAT, Yamaha), +1:19.903; 13. Kay Karssemakers (NED, Fantic), +1:46.501; 14. Jens Walvoort (NED, KTM), +1:58.545; 15. Rick Elzinga (NED, Yamaha), -1 lap(s); 16. Jiraj Wannalak (THA, KTM), -1 lap(s); 17. Jack Chambers (USA, Kawasaki), -1 lap(s); 18. Muhammad Arsenio Algifari (INA, Honda), -1 lap(s); 19. Nakami Vidi Makarim (INA, KTM), -2 lap(s); 20. Leopold Ambjörnson (SWE, Husqvarna), -10 lap(s); 21. David Braceras (ESP, Fantic), -16 lap(s); 22. Delvintor Alfarizi (INA, Honda), -17 lap(s);

MX2 - Grand Prix Race 2 - Classification

1. Lucas Coenen (BEL, Husqvarna), 34:51.702; 2. Andrea Adamo (ITA, KTM), +0:04.910; 3. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, Triumph), +0:05.658; 4. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), +0:19.113; 5. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GASGAS), +0:26.015; 6. Kay de Wolf (NED, Husqvarna), +0:58.445; 7. Rick Elzinga (NED, Yamaha), +1:03.411; 8. Camden Mc Lellan (RSA, Triumph), +1:08.121; 9. Oriol Oliver (ESP, KTM), +1:10.631; 10. David Braceras (ESP, Fantic), +1:24.547; 11. Karlis Alberts Reisulis (LAT, Yamaha), +1:32.912; 12. Jens Walvoort (NED, KTM), +1:41.931; 13. Sacha Coenen (BEL, KTM), +1:56.970; 14. Jack Chambers (USA, Kawasaki), -1 lap(s); 15. Leopold Ambjörnson (SWE, Husqvarna), -1 lap(s); 16. Ferruccio Zanchi (ITA, Honda), -1 lap(s); 17. Delvintor Alfarizi (INA, Honda), -1 lap(s); 18. Jiraj Wannalak (THA, KTM), -1 lap(s); 19. Nakami Vidi Makarim (INA, KTM), -2 lap(s); 20. Quentin Marc Prugnieres (FRA, Kawasaki), -5 lap(s); 21. Muhammad Arsenio Algifari (INA, Honda), -7 lap(s); 22. Kay Karssemakers (NED, Fantic), -13 lap(s);

MX2 - GP Classification

1. Lucas Coenen (BEL, HUS), 50 points; 2. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, TRI), 38 p.; 3. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GAS), 38 p.; 4. Andrea Adamo (ITA, KTM), 37 p.; 5. Kay de Wolf (NED, HUS), 35 p.; 6. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), 34 p.; 7. Camden Mc Lellan (RSA, TRI), 26 p.; 8. Oriol Oliver (ESP, KTM), 23 p.; 9. Sacha Coenen (BEL, KTM), 22 p.; 10. Rick Elzinga (NED, YAM), 20 p.; 11. Karlis Alberts Reisulis (LAT, YAM), 19 p.; 12. Ferruccio Zanchi (ITA, HON), 17 p.; 13. Jens Walvoort (NED, KTM), 16 p.; 14. David Braceras (ESP, FAN), 11 p.; 15. Jack Chambers (USA, KAW), 11 p.; 16. Quentin Marc Prugnieres (FRA, KAW), 11 p.; 17. Jiraj Wannalak (THA, KTM), 8 p.; 18. Kay Karssemakers (NED, FAN), 8 p.; 19. Leopold Ambjörnson (SWE, HUS), 7 p.; 20. Delvintor Alfarizi (INA, HON), 4 p.; 21. Nakami Vidi Makarim (INA, KTM), 4 p.; 22. Muhammad Arsenio Algifari (INA, HON), 3 p.;

MX2 - World Championship Classification

1. Kay de Wolf (NED, HUS), 576 points; 2. Lucas Coenen (BEL, HUS), 527 p.; 3. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GAS), 509 p.; 4. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), 471 p.; 5. Andrea Adamo (ITA, KTM), 455 p.; 6. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, TRI), 399 p.; 7. Rick Elzinga (NED, YAM), 346 p.; 8. Sacha Coenen (BEL, KTM), 341 p.; 9. Quentin Marc Prugnieres (FRA, KAW), 228 p.; 10. Thibault Benistant (FRA, YAM), 226 p.; 11. Oriol Oliver (ESP, KTM), 212 p.; 12. Ferruccio Zanchi (ITA, HON), 212 p.; 13. Camden Mc Lellan (RSA, TRI), 179 p.; 14. Jack Chambers (USA, KAW), 152 p.; 15. Jens Walvoort (NED, KTM), 150 p.; 16. Marc-Antoine Rossi (FRA, GAS), 122 p.; 17. Kay Karssemakers (NED, FAN), 115 p.; 18. David Braceras (ESP, FAN), 102 p.; 19. Andrea Bonacorsi (ITA, YAM), 83 p.; 20. Julius Mikula (CZE, KTM), 75 p.

More similar articles

World Juniors - Highlights image

World Juniors - Highlights

Jul 15

  • Video
Chase Sexton interview - Winner image

Chase Sexton interview - Winner

Jul 15

  • Interview