MXLarge Logo
Lucas Coenen Wins Saturday

Lucas Coenen Wins Saturday

Jul 6

  • News

Lucas Coenen of the Nestaan Husqvarna factory team has won the Saturday qualification race from team-mate, Kay De Wolf and Simon Langenfelder. It was a drama filled moto with younger brother Sasha Coenen leading on a couple of occasions, because crashing while leading and dropping to fourth.

Lucas Coenen: Of course it was a tough one. Start wasn’t too bad, but my brother led and then I passed my brother, then I crashed, then he crashed and I won. The track is difficult, but I like it like this.

Sasha Coenen led Lucas Coenen, then de Wolf, Adamo, Langenfelder, Zanchi, Everts, Haarup, Elzinga and Prugnieres 10th. McLellan 12th, Chambers 16th and Zanchi now in 19th, with Adamo 18th.

After two laps it was a six second lead to Sasha over his brother Lucas, then Langenfelder moved past de Wolf for third, followed by De Wolf, Haarup, Elzinga, Reisulis, Everts, Prugnieres and Oliver 10th.

Four laps in and the lead between the two Coenen brothers was 3.8 with Langenfelder 7.7 seconds off the pace, then came De Wolf, Haarup, Elzinga, Everts, Reisulis, Oliver and Braceras. Everts moved past Elzinga and Adamo was up to 13th place.

Lap eight and it was Lucas Coenen in the lead over Sasha, then De Wolf, Langenfelder, Haarup, Everts, Elzinga, Reisulis, Oliver and Prugnieres. Sasha Coenen back in the lead over his brother Lucas. Sasha Coenen ran off the track and got stuck, allowing Lucas Coenen, De Wolf and Langenfelder all pass. Lucas Coenen won it from de Wolf and Langenfelder.

MX2 - RAM Qualifying Race - Classification

1. Lucas Coenen (BEL, Husqvarna), 24:15.060; 2. Kay de Wolf (NED, Husqvarna), +0:04.688; 3. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GASGAS), +0:09.780; 4. Sacha Coenen (BEL, KTM), +0:13.874; 5. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, Triumph), +0:23.028; 6. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), +0:24.989; 7. Rick Elzinga (NED, Yamaha), +0:37.138; 8. Oriol Oliver (ESP, KTM), +0:37.833; 9. Karlis Alberts Reisulis (LAT, Yamaha), +0:46.960; 10. Andrea Adamo (ITA, KTM), +0:48.652; 11. Quentin Marc Prugnieres (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:53.864; 12. David Braceras (ESP, Fantic), +0:55.783; 13. Jack Chambers (USA, Kawasaki), +1:05.984; 14. Camden Mc Lellan (RSA, Triumph), +1:14.047; 15. Ferruccio Zanchi (ITA, Honda), +1:16.408; 16. Kay Karssemakers (NED, Fantic), +1:36.181; 17. Delvintor Alfarizi (INA, Honda), +1:42.530; 18. Leopold Ambjörnson (SWE, Husqvarna), +1:51.917; 19. Jiraj Wannalak (THA, KTM), -1 lap(s); 20. Nakami Vidi Makarim (INA, KTM), -1 lap(s); 21. Muhammad Arsenio Algifari (INA, Honda), -2 lap(s);

FullSpectrum image

More similar articles

World Juniors - Highlights image

World Juniors - Highlights

Jul 15

  • Video
Chase Sexton interview - Winner image

Chase Sexton interview - Winner

Jul 15

  • Interview