MXLarge Logo
Maggiora - It's History

Maggiora - It's History

Jun 10

  • News

The next stop on the 2024 FIM Motocross World Championship calendar we head to the old school circuit of Maggiora and of course, this magnificent track has a history much richer than many in Europe or for that matter, the world. When legendary East German Paul Friedrichs won a 500cc GP in 1966 at Maggiora, it was the only time that the 500cc class ever visited this splendid area, but it was the start of something very beautiful.

Nearly two decades later the 250cc class did compete at Maggiora with Dutchman Kees van Der Ven winning in 1982, then Alex Puzar in 1990, Andrea Bartolini in 1995 and Pit Beirer in 1999. Puzar would also win a 125cc GP in 1997.

The Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations has been run in Maggiora on three occasions, first in 1970 when team Sweden took victory, then of course one of the most historical Monster Energy FIM MXoN in the events history in 1986 when Team USA scored perfect points, with Ricky Johnson, David Bailey and Johnny O’Mara going 1-2 in all three races, before the MXoN returned back in 2016, when it was Team France who secured the Chamberlain Trophy in another dramatic day around the Italian facility.

“Maggiora will always live in my heart,” Ricky Johnson told. “The European fans were always kind to us, and on that day at Maggiora, such a special day in our sport and despite having beaten the European riders badly, the crowd still accepted us with open arms and showed a lot of respect. Any chance I get to return to Maggiora, I try and do, it is a beautiful place.”

Once the Grand Prix series moved to double and triple GPs in the early 2000’s, Maggiora went missing from the calendar but did return under the watchful eye of Youthstream (now Infront). Acknowledging that these old school circuits were crucial for the sports legacy, Maggiora returned in 2013 as Gautier Paulin took the win in the MX1 (now MXGP) class and Jeffrey Herlings won in the MX2 class.

Italian legend Antonio Cairoli won in 2014 in MXGP and Herlings won again in MX2. A year later it was Romain Febvre winning MXGP on the way to his MXGP title and Tim Gajser beating Herlings by two points in MX2, with the Slovenian also winning the MX2 title in that season.

After the 2016 MXoN the Maggiora circuit again disappeared from the calendar and finally returned in 2021 and on this occasion, it was a strange day, as Jeffrey Herlings added to his MX2 success in 2013 and 2014 as he scored a very lopsided 6-1 result for the win in MXGP. Jorge Prado scored 2-7 for fourth overall and Gajser 5-6 for seventh overall.

2022 Gajser won with 1-1 results, but both Prado and Herlings didn’t race due to injuries. Last year, Jeremy Seewer won from Prado, who finished second overall with 1-6, Gajser was fifth overall with 9-2 results.

Now as we return to Maggiora, we all know that victory for either of the big three is more than likely, but can Herlings continue his momentum from last weekend in Latvia and make it four wins at Maggiora, or will Gajser win his third GP there, or Prado his first?

More similar articles

Jack Chambers interview - Euro Travels image

Jack Chambers interview - Euro Travels

Jun 20

  • Interview
Junior WC - Entries image

Junior WC - Entries

Jun 20

  • News