MXLarge Logo
Prado Wins in Indonesia

Prado Wins in Indonesia

Jun 30

  • Race Report

Red Bull GasGas factory rider Jorge Prado has taken yet another Grand Prix victory, going 2-1 after a very dramatic second moto in Lombok, Indonesia. The defending MXGP champion looked beaten early in the second moto, however he remained calm, and then crashes to both Jeffrey Herlings and Tim Gajser rewarded the Spaniard with the GP win, his 45th in his career. Once again, staying calm and relaxed handed him more success in 2024.

Jorge Prado: I just said on my way to the podium, my goal is to win every Grand Prix and we started the second half of the series with a win. The track was so muddy and I ran off the track and nearly crashed and was covered in mud, but I regrouped and was able to win. I am so happy with this victory. I have been riding well all season, but then in Maggiora I had that DNF. We came here and its very physical and I didn’t have the perfect starts and I still go the win.

Jeffrey Herlings: It should have been a 1-1-1, but it was my mistake, but I don’t know why they watered the track. I hurt my knee a little, but I think it will be okay. 1-1-2 isn’t too bad.

Championship points are now Tim Gajser 555, Jorge Prado 533, Jeffrey Herlings 497.

Valuable points gained by both Prado and Herlings on series leader Gajser as Herlings finished second with 1-2 and Gajser came home fourth with 3-5 scores. Third overall was Calvin Vlaanderen with 4-4 scores.

Herlings into the lead out of turn one ahead of Gajser and Prado. Vlaanderen was fourth, then Seewer, Guadagnini, Horgmo, Guillod, Bonacorsi and Pancar 10th. Prado was into second and Gajser passes as the Spaniard made a mistake, nearly running off the track.

Herlings looking very aggressive as he gets a little away from Gajser, although just 1.3 seconds, with Prado 2.7 back and Vlaanderen on his back wheel. Prado seemingly not able to go with Herlings and Prado and maybe a little rattled from his near off-track moment.

Gajser looking fast, but Herlings matching him as Vlaanderen went down in fourth and dropped to seventh spot. Gajser all over Herlings and these two pushing very hard. Lap two and the lead was 1.6 with Prado 4.7 back in third.

Gajser jumped the triple, which was giving Prado a big advantage yesterday, but the gap to Herlings and Gajser was now three seconds and Prado was just 4.4 off Herlings, so closing up on the HRC man. Prado picking beautiful lines, not sure if its quicker, but it looks nicer. Prado quickest lap of the race. Herlings also his quickest lap of the moto.

Herlings a mistake and Gajser takes the lead and Prado into second. The Dutchman now eight seconds off the lead and covered in mud. Not looking very happy and rightly so. Gajser just ahead of Prado, with less than a second separating the two riders.

As we expected coming in, these three are separated by a point in the overall and Prado pushing Gajser hard as Herlings now 10 seconds off the lead. Gajser blocked a pass by Prado and then as Prado passed Prado, the Gajser hit his back wheel and crashed. Lap five the lead by Prado was seven seconds and Herlings was 11 seconds off the leader.

On lap six the lead by Prado was 9.5 with Herlings a further two seconds back, then came Seewer, Vlaanderen, Guadagnini, Horgmo, Pancar, Toendel, Paturel in 10th. Herlings all over Gajser for second and makes the pass on lap seven. 12 minutes remaining, can he catch Prado?

Gajser another mistake and he dropped back to fifth place, losing valuable points to both Prado and Herlings. On lap nine it was Prado with a 10 seconds gap over Herlings, then Seewer third, Vlaanderen, Gajser, Horgmo, Guadagnini, Pancar, Toendel, and Paturel 10th.

Nine minutes remaining and two laps and the lead is 9.2 seconds between Prado and Herlings, then it was 8.6. Herlings is coming. Lap 10 though it was back to 9.7 and Prado not allowing the Dutchman any momentum. Eleven laps and the lead is 9.1 and time is running out for Herlings to challenge the defending champion for the win. Prado wins the moto from Herlings and Seewer and took the GP win.

MXGP - Grand Prix Race 1 - Classification

1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 34:51.779; 2. Jorge Prado (ESP, GASGAS), +0:10.164; 3. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:16.761; 4. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, Yamaha), +0:23.402; 5. Andrea Bonacorsi (ITA, Yamaha), +0:26.398; 6. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Kawasaki), +0:29.577; 7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Fantic), +0:34.304; 8. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Honda), +0:39.618; 9. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, Honda), +0:41.304; 10. Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, Husqvarna), +0:58.446; 11. Isak Gifting (SWE, Yamaha), +1:09.089; 12. Jan Pancar (SLO, KTM), +1:42.945; 13. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +1:49.310; 14. Yuki Okura (JPN, Honda), -1 lap(s); 15. Cornelius Toendel (NOR, KTM), -1 lap(s); 16. Lionel Kerhoas (FRA, KTM), -3 lap(s);

MXGP - Grand Prix Race 2 - Classification

1. Jorge Prado (ESP, GASGAS), 35:11.222; 2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:05.367; 3. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Kawasaki), +0:09.683; 4. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, Yamaha), +0:13.663; 5. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:21.219; 6. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, Honda), +0:26.978; 7. Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, Husqvarna), +0:40.570; 8. Cornelius Toendel (NOR, KTM), +0:54.924; 9. Jan Pancar (SLO, KTM), +0:58.174; 10. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +1:00.429; 11. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Fantic), +1:06.798; 12. Andrea Bonacorsi (ITA, Yamaha), +1:17.733; 13. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Honda), +1:27.895; 14. Isak Gifting (SWE, Yamaha), +1:32.913; 15. Yuki Okura (JPN, Honda), +2:02.966; 16. Lionel Kerhoas (FRA, KTM), -3 lap(s);

MXGP - GP Classification

1. Jorge Prado (ESP, GAS), 47 points; 2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 47 p.; 3. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, YAM), 36 p.; 4. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 36 p.; 5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, KAW), 35 p.; 6. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, HON), 27 p.; 7. Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, HUS), 25 p.; 8. Andrea Bonacorsi (ITA, YAM), 25 p.; 9. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, FAN), 24 p.; 10. Jan Pancar (SLO, KTM), 21 p.; 11. Valentin Guillod (SUI, HON), 21 p.; 12. Cornelius Toendel (NOR, KTM), 19 p.; 13. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 19 p.; 14. Isak Gifting (SWE, YAM), 17 p.; 15. Yuki Okura (JPN, HON), 13 p.; 16. Lionel Kerhoas (FRA, KTM), 10 p.; 17. Brian Bogers (NED, FAN), 0 p.; 18. Lewis Stewart (AUS, KTM), 0 p.;

MXGP - World Championship Classification

1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 555 points; 2. Jorge Prado (ESP, GAS), 533 p.; 3. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 497 p.; 4. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, YAM), 381 p.; 5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, KAW), 374 p.; 6. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 327 p.; 7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, FAN), 327 p.; 8. Pauls Jonass (LAT, HON), 274 p.; 9. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, HON), 238 p.; 10. Valentin Guillod (SUI, HON), 224 p.; 11. Brian Bogers (NED, FAN), 213 p.; 12. Cornelius Toendel (NOR, KTM), 157 p.; 13. Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, HUS), 146 p.; 14. Andrea Bonacorsi (ITA, YAM), 143 p.; 15. Jan Pancar (SLO, KTM), 140 p.; 16. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 129 p.; 17. Ben Watson (GBR, BET), 110 p.; 18. Isak Gifting (SWE, YAM), 109 p.; 19. Alvin Östlund (SWE, HON), 95 p.; 20. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, BET), 71 p.

More similar articles

World Juniors - Highlights image

World Juniors - Highlights

Jul 15

  • Video
Chase Sexton interview - Winner image

Chase Sexton interview - Winner

Jul 15

  • Interview