MXLarge Logo
Sasha Coenen Wins In Latvia

Sasha Coenen Wins In Latvia

Jun 9

  • Race Report

Great to see the other Coenen, Sasha winning the Latvian Grand Prix, scoring his first ever moto win and GP win on the same day. The smaller of the brothers is showing big improvement of late and this GP victory was a long time coming. In a historical day, twin brother Lucas Coenen was second overall and third was Simon Langenfelder.

Championship points are now Kay de Wolf 443pts, Lucas Coenen 388pts, Simon Laengenfelder 381pts, Liam Everts 341pts and Andrea Adamo 327pts.

Sasha Coenen: I did a good start and I don’t know, I put pressure on Kay and he crashed. So many mistakes, it was a difficult weekend I would say. Yes, I wasn’t feeling really good, but I felt good on the track. Second moto I was second and Kay crashed and I managed to win. It is so nice.

Lucas Coenen: Yes, I am super pumped for him to finally get a win. I took some big crashes second moto and we need to work more. I struggled all weekend.

Simon Langenfelder: For sure I was happy with my riding and we made some set-up changed and unfortunately I made some mistakes, but congratulation to Sasha for the win.

De Wolf again led the second MX2 moto from Sasha Coenen, Lucas Coenen, Prugnieres, Everts, Haarup, Langenfelder, Oliver, Walvoort. De Wolf a mistake and he dropped to eighth place. Lucas Coenen also went down and started again in sixth place.

Sasha Coenen made a mistake, but kept the lead and was looking very fast, some 9.6 seconds ahead of Prugnieres, then Langenfelder, Everts, Lucas Coenen, Haarup, Oliver, Waalvoort, Elzinga and Chambers. De Wolf again down and now in 20th place.

Four laps in and the lead was 13 seconds with Langenfelder second, then Prugnieres, Lucas Coenen, Haarup, Everts, Oliver, Walvoort, Elzinga and Bruce a very good 10th. De Wolf 19th and losing major points on Langenfelder and Lucas Coenen.

Sasha Coenen really showing his improvement as he continued to lead and on lap six the lead was 11 seconds over Langenfelder. Haarup crashed and dropped to seventh place, but his bike looked bent.Adamo 13th after a poor start and De Wolf up to 16th.

Lap nine the lead was nine seconds with Langenfelder second, then Lucas Coenen, Everts, Oliver, Elzinga, Haarup, Walvoort, Adamo and Prugnieres a mistake and dropped from seventh to 10th. De Wolf back in 12th spot. De Wolf up to 10th position and Chambers 16th. Lucas Coenen also dropped his bike but didn’t lose a position and at the same time, Sasha nearly crashed, but kept it on two wheels.

Lap 13 and Coenen’s lead was eight seconds with Langenfelder still second, then Lucas Coenen, Everts, Elzinga, Oliver, Haarup, Adamo, De Wolf and Walvoort 10th. Coenen wins the moto and the GP.

MX2 - Grand Prix Race 2 - Classification

1. Sacha Coenen (BEL, KTM), 34:26.176; 2. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GASGAS), +0:15.755; 3. Lucas Coenen (BEL, Husqvarna), +0:25.504; 4. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), +0:26.304; 5. Rick Elzinga (NED, Yamaha), +0:27.044; 6. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, Triumph), +0:35.945; 7. Oriol Oliver (ESP, KTM), +0:37.074; 8. Andrea Adamo (ITA, KTM), +0:50.356; 9. Kay de Wolf (NED, Husqvarna), +1:09.782; 10. Jens Walvoort (NED, KTM), +1:11.423; 11. Ferruccio Zanchi (ITA, Honda), +1:11.962; 12. Quentin Marc Prugnieres (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:29.948; 13. Julius Mikula (CZE, KTM), +1:33.237; 14. Kay Karssemakers (NED, Fantic), +1:42.378; 15. Dave Kooiker (NED, KTM), +1:43.006; 16. Jack Chambers (USA, Kawasaki), +2:04.453; 17. Leopold Ambjörnson (SWE, Husqvarna), -1 lap(s); 18. Filip Olsson (SWE, KTM), -1 lap(s); 19. William Voxen Kleemann (DEN, KTM), -1 lap(s); 20. Yago Martinez (ESP, TM), -1 lap(s); 21. Sampo Rainio (FIN, KTM), -1 lap(s); 22. Nicolas Vennekens (BEL, GASGAS), -1 lap(s); 23. Erlandas Mackonis (LTU, KTM), -1 lap(s); 24. Oscar Brix (DEN, KTM), -2 lap(s); 25. Bobby Bruce (GBR, Kawasaki), -6 lap(s); 26. Delvintor Alfarizi (INA, Honda), -14 lap(s); 27. Arvid Lüning (SWE, GASGAS), -14 lap(s); 28. David Braceras (ESP, Fantic), -16 lap(s);

MX2 - GP Classification

1. Sacha Coenen (BEL, KTM), 45 points; 2. Lucas Coenen (BEL, HUS), 42 p.; 3. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GAS), 40 p.; 4. Kay de Wolf (NED, HUS), 37 p.; 5. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), 34 p.; 6. Rick Elzinga (NED, YAM), 29 p.; 7. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, TRI), 29 p.; 8. Oriol Oliver (ESP, KTM), 29 p.; 9. Andrea Adamo (ITA, KTM), 21 p.; 10. Jens Walvoort (NED, KTM), 21 p.; 11. Quentin Marc Prugnieres (FRA, KAW), 21 p.; 12. Julius Mikula (CZE, KTM), 19 p.; 13. Ferruccio Zanchi (ITA, HON), 16 p.; 14. Kay Karssemakers (NED, FAN), 16 p.; 15. Jack Chambers (USA, KAW), 9 p.; 16. Dave Kooiker (NED, KTM), 7 p.; 17. David Braceras (ESP, FAN), 7 p.; 18. Filip Olsson (SWE, KTM), 5 p.; 19. Arvid Lüning (SWE, GAS), 5 p.; 20. Leopold Ambjörnson (SWE, HUS), 4 p.; 21. Bobby Bruce (GBR, KAW), 3 p.; 22. William Voxen Kleemann (DEN, KTM), 2 p.; 23. Yago Martinez (ESP, TM), 1 p.; 24. Sampo Rainio (FIN, KTM), 0 p.; 25. Nicolas Vennekens (BEL, GAS), 0 p.; 26. Erlandas Mackonis (LTU, KTM), 0 p.; 27. Oscar Brix (DEN, KTM), 0 p.; 28. Delvintor Alfarizi (INA, HON), 0 p.;

MX2 - World Championship Classification

1. Kay de Wolf (NED, HUS), 443 points; 2. Lucas Coenen (BEL, HUS), 388 p.; 3. Simon Laengenfelder (GER, GAS), 381 p.; 4. Liam Everts (BEL, KTM), 341 p.; 5. Andrea Adamo (ITA, KTM), 327 p.; 6. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, TRI), 287 p.; 7. Rick Elzinga (NED, YAM), 278 p.; 8. Sacha Coenen (BEL, KTM), 228 p.; 9. Thibault Benistant (FRA, YAM), 226 p.; 10. Quentin Marc Prugnieres (FRA, KAW), 174 p.; 11. Oriol Oliver (ESP, KTM), 155 p.; 12. Ferruccio Zanchi (ITA, HON), 141 p.; 13. Camden Mc Lellan (RSA, TRI), 126 p.; 14. Marc-Antoine Rossi (FRA, GAS), 122 p.; 15. Jack Chambers (USA, KAW), 116 p.; 16. Jens Walvoort (NED, KTM), 111 p.; 17. Kay Karssemakers (NED, FAN), 92 p.; 18. Andrea Bonacorsi (ITA, YAM), 83 p.; 19. David Braceras (ESP, FAN), 76 p.; 20. Julius Mikula (CZE, KTM), 67 p.; 21. Hakon Osterhagen (NOR, HON), 62 p.; 22. Bobby Bruce (GBR, KAW), 32 p.; 23. Leopold Ambjörnson (SWE, HUS), 30 p.; 24. Yago Martinez (ESP, TM), 30 p.; 25. Dave Kooiker (NED, KTM), 27 p.; 26. Cas Valk (NED, KTM), 24 p.; 27. Arvid Lüning (SWE, GAS), 20 p.; 28. Hakon Fredriksen (NOR, KTM), 18 p.; 29. Valerio Lata (ITA, GAS), 13 p.; 30. William Voxen Kleemann (DEN, KTM), 13 p.; 31. Federico Tuani (ITA, KTM), 10 p.; 32. Peter Koenig (GER, KTM), 9 p.; 33. Nicolai Skovbjerg (DEN, YAM), 6 p.; 34. Filip Olsson (SWE, KTM), 5 p.; 35. Emil Weckman (FIN, KTM), 3 p.; 36. Thibault Maupin (FRA, GAS), 3 p.; 37. Samuel Nilsson (ESP, KTM), 3 p.; 38. Mads Fredsoe (DEN, GAS), 2 p.; 39. Jan Krug (GER, HUS), 1 p.;

Ray Archer image

More similar articles

Jack Chambers interview - Euro Travels image

Jack Chambers interview - Euro Travels

Jun 20

  • Interview
Junior WC - Entries image

Junior WC - Entries

Jun 20

  • News