MXLarge Logo
Herlings Wins Saturday - Lombok

Herlings Wins Saturday - Lombok

Jun 29

  • News

Red Bull KTM Factory rider Jeffrey Herlings has won his first MXGP qualification race of 2024 as he slowly but surely gets back to his best speed. The Dutchman passed early leader Tim Gajser to win from Jorge Prado and Gajser.

Jeffrey Herlings: It has been a while, last was in Latvia. I had so much arm-pump, the track was hard and rocky and we had some shadows, but I took the 10 points and am happy about that. I think everyone was being careful.

Sensational start by Gajser as he didn’t back off in the first corner and went in a little harder to beat Prado and then pushed the Spaniard wide, allowing Herlings into second, then came Seewer, Gifting, Prado, Pancar, Vlaanderen, Paturel, Guillod, Bonacorsi, and Horgmo. Guadganini crashed and was back in 17th place.

Gajser pushing really hard and getting away from Herlings slightly, then Seewer already 5.4 seconds back and Prado seven seconds behind the leader. Bogers seemingly out of the race after a crash. Gajser and Herlings clearly the two fastest guys now as Prado struggles somewhat and maybe the lack of an off-season starting to show on him.

Making my comments senseless, Prado the quickest lap and Herlings also clocked a quick lap. Prado actually looking very sharp as he tried to catch the two front guys. Lap three and the lead by Gajser was 2.2 seconds and Prado was 7.1 off the leader, Gajser.

Herlings into the lead and looking very determined in a very nice passing move. Prado also catching those boy as he was 4.5 of the lead of Herlings and Gajser made a small mistake and was lucky. Four laps and the lead was 2.1 seconds, with Prado a similar margin off Gajser.

Top ten on lap five was Herlings, Gajser, Prado, Seewer, Vlaanderen, Pancar, Horgmo, Guillod, Paturel, and Bonacorsi. Prado the quickest on lap six and just 3.2 behind Herlings now and right onto Gajser. Prado looking very nice in third and probably the most comfortable with six laps remaining.

Prado moved into second place as he passed Gajser and Herlings lead was 3.5 over the Spaniard. Gajser still pushing to get to Prado and Herlings gap getting smaller and smaller over Prado. Three laps remaining and the lead was 3.1, with Prado two seconds ahead of Gajser, but anyones race still.

Nine laps done and the lead was 3.3 seconds. Top ten on lap nine was Herlings, Prado, Gajser, Seewer, Vlaanderen, Horgmo, Guillod, Pancar, Bonacorsi, Coldenhoff. Herlings wins from Prado and Gajser.

MXGP - RAM Qualifying Race - Classification

1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 25:09.310; 2. Jorge Prado (ESP, GASGAS), +0:03.034; 3. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:06.061; 4. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Kawasaki), +0:13.719; 5. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, Yamaha), +0:19.963; 6. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, Honda), +0:27.916; 7. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Honda), +0:32.476; 8. Jan Pancar (SLO, KTM), +0:33.552; 9. Andrea Bonacorsi (ITA, Yamaha), +0:39.936; 10. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Fantic), +0:43.362; 11. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +0:48.614; 12. Cornelius Toendel (NOR, KTM), +1:13.165; 13. Yuki Okura (JPN, Honda), +1:17.896; 14. Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, Husqvarna), -1 lap(s); 15. Lewis Stewart (AUS, KTM), -1 lap(s); 16. Isak Gifting (SWE, Yamaha), -1 lap(s); 17. Lionel Kerhoas (FRA, KTM), -2 lap(s); 18. Brian Bogers (NED, Fantic), -12 lap(s);

MXGP - World Championship Classification

1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 519 points; 2. Jorge Prado (ESP, GAS), 486 p.; 3. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 450 p.; 4. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, YAM), 345 p.; 5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, KAW), 339 p.; 6. Romain Febvre (FRA, KAW), 327 p.; 7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, FAN), 303 p.; 8. Pauls Jonass (LAT, HON), 274 p.; 9. Brian Bogers (NED, FAN), 213 p.; 10. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, HON), 211 p.; 11. Valentin Guillod (SUI, HON), 203 p.; 12. Cornelius Toendel (NOR, KTM), 138 p.; 13. Mattia Guadagnini (ITA, HUS), 121 p.; 14. Jan Pancar (SLO, KTM), 119 p.; 15. Andrea Bonacorsi (ITA, YAM), 118 p.; 16. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 110 p.; 17. Ben Watson (GBR, BET), 110 p.; 18. Alvin Östlund (SWE, HON), 95 p.; 19. Isak Gifting (SWE, YAM), 92 p.; 20. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, BET), 71 p.; 21. Maxime Renaux (FRA, YAM), 63 p.; 22. Tom Koch (GER, KTM), 54 p.; 23. Maximilian Spies (GER, KTM), 39 p.; 24. Josh Gilbert (GBR, KTM), 29 p.; 25. Adam Sterry (GBR, KTM), 25 p.; 26. Kevin Brumann (SUI, HUS), 24 p.; 27. Jere Haavisto (FIN, KTM), 18 p.; 28. Giuseppe Tropepe (ITA, HON), 14 p.; 29. Henry Jacobi (GER, KTM), 13 p.; 30. Tim Edberg (SWE, HON), 13 p

More similar articles

World Juniors - Highlights image

World Juniors - Highlights

Jul 15

  • Video
Chase Sexton interview - Winner image

Chase Sexton interview - Winner

Jul 15

  • Interview